15 Comments

KAI Presents… Kay Kauffman!

Kev’s Author Interviews Presents:

Kay Kauffman!

wpaviUnited States

A Short Bio

As a girl, Kay dreamed of being swept off her feet by her one true love. At the age of 24, it finally happened…and he’s never let her forget it. A mild-mannered secretary by day and a determined word-wrangler by night, she battles the twin evils of distraction and procrastination in order to write fantastical tales of wuv…twue wuv…with a few bad haiku thrown in for good measure.

She is currently hard at work on the first book in a fantasy trilogy. Kay resides in the midst of an Iowa corn field with her devoted husband and his mighty red pen; four crazy, cute kids; and an assortment of adorably small, furry animals.

***

Kev: What is your latest book about?

In addition to intimate portraits of family life, A Song for All Seasons paints vivid pictures of the Iowa landscape in all its glory. From frost-covered window panes and snowy vistas to rolling green fields and bright blue skies, each poem is a peek into a fading world of untamed beauty.

ASFAS-Ecover

Kev: Who or what influenced you to write it?

I’ve always dabbled in poetry, and Iowa is just a beautiful place. We’ve got hills and woods and plains and cornfields and bustling cities and small towns, and I just love it here. I guess you could say my poems are like love letters to the places and people who have shaped who I am.

Kev: What challenges did you face while writing the story?

Occasionally I try to make things rhyme. I’m not very good at rhyming. Thank God for rhyming dictionaries, or I’d have been toast! Other than that, just trying to get my thoughts to fit into a verse format can sometimes be difficult. I write mostly haiku, and I’ve written enough of them now that I’ve begun to think in a 5-7-5 syllable structure, but occasionally I’ll want to use a word that just won’t fit, and trying to make it fit is incredibly frustrating.
Also, balancing my writing time with my day job and family commitments is an incredible challenge. I’m blessed to have a very supportive family.

Kev: Could you provide a short passage from your book to give us a taster?

WHAT IF

Once again, I lie
Awake, thinking of you and
Wondering about

What might have been, what
We might have had together,
If only we’d met

In another place,
Another time. A thousand
Possibilities

Swirl round my mind,
Chased by a thousand questions,
Chiefly this: Did you

Ever wonder what
Might have been? Did you ever
Think of me and ask,

“What if? Could it be?”
I guess there are some things I’ll
Never ever know.
HINDSIGHT

The reflection in
My rearview mirror shows a
Sky on fire, and

Heavy bluish clouds
Struggling to extinguish
The smoldering flames.
PERSPECTIVE

An old brick schoolhouse
Sits in a field, long forgotten
And slowly decaying.

Where are the children
Who once filled its halls with their
Laughter, their chatter?

Do they, too, lie in
A field, forgotten, slowly
Decaying, food for worms?

History surrounds
Us. What has been will someday
Be again, only

Then it will be we
Who lie forgotten, slowly
Decaying and lonely.

Then it will be we
Who are pushing up daisies,
Food for nightcrawlers.

***

Kev: When you write, do write off-the-cuff or do you use some kind of formula?
I’m generally a pantser, particularly with my poetry. While I usually stick to one format, (haiku) I often have no idea what I’m going to write about when I sit down to write a poem.
When it comes to my novels, I generally have some sort of a synopsis (or at least part of one), but I never know how the story is going to end until I get to the end.
Kev: How do you deal with writers-block?
Usually I read a book. Or watch a movie. Or play with my kids. Or procrastinate online. Or work on something else. Sometimes when the ideas won’t flow for one project, they will for another.
Kev: Preference for writing: Day or Night?
I almost always write on my lunch breaks at work or while my younger boys are napping in the afternoons, but I also like writing at night when I can manage to stay awake. I used to stay up all night long writing with my friends when I was in school, but that seems like a lifetime ago.
Kev: What is your process for editing your work?
I start at the beginning and work my way through, keeping an eye out for typos, and checking to see if anything can be tightened. Writing haiku is great practice for saying what I want to say in only a few words.
Kev: How do you come up with your book covers?
For my first book, Tuesday Daydreams, I knew I wanted the cover to have an image of clouds. I could spend hours daydreaming as I watch the clouds drift across the sky, so that was important to me. Finding a suitable image to use was more of a challenge.

TD-Ecover
For A Song for All Seasons, I happened to stumble upon a perfect image before I had really settled on a title. I ended up changing the title to fit the image I wanted to use for the cover, but I’m quite happy with it – I actually like the title I ended up with better than the first, though the first was perhaps a bit more unique.

ASFAS-Ecover
Kev: Do you think the book cover is important?
Absolutely. Despite the conventional wisdom that one should never judge a book by its cover, people do it constantly (and sadly, not just with books). I think books should have covers that are so beautiful they practically scream to be picked up, and I hope I’ve achieved that with my own book covers.
Kev: Which publishing platform do you prefer and why?
I don’t really have a preference, though I do think the pre-order process on Smashwords was less of a headache than it was on Amazon.
Kev: Do you face any daunting obstacles during the publishing process?
Formatting the interior files can be a pain and a half, but my biggest obstacle is finding the peace and quiet I need to concentrate on what I’m doing. With four kids, though, peace and quiet is hard to come by. 🙂
Kev: What methods do you use to promote your work?
I haven’t done much in the way of promotion. I’ve done some guest posts on a variety of blogs, as well as mentioning my books on my blog, and every now and then I throw out a tweet or a Facebook post about my books, but nothing overt. I can talk about other people’s books all day long, but I find it hard to promote my work.
Kev: Do you have any advice for new authors?
Work hard, read widely, make friends, and have fun! There’s a lot of waiting in the writing game, so you might as well be having fun while you’re waiting. 🙂
Kev: Which social media platforms do you use the most?
You can find me in the all the usual places:

At my blog, where I share random pictures and silly poems; on Facebook, where I share things about cats and books; on Twitter, where I shares whatever pops into my head; on Pinterest, where I share delicious recipes and images from my fantasy world; on Instagram, where I share pictures of pretty sunsets; and on Tumblr, where I share all of the above.

 

 

Kev: Is there anything else you would like to add?
Thank you so much for taking the time to interview me! I really appreciate it, and I’m sure all the other authors you’ve hosted do as well.

As I’ve not yet mentioned it, you can find A Song for All Seasons at Smashwords, Amazon, Amazon UK, Createspace, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads.

You can also find my debut poetry collection, Tuesday Daydreams, at Smashwords, Amazon, Amazon UK, Createspace, Kobo, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads.

 

KAY KAUFFMAN, EVERYONE!

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

15 comments on “KAI Presents… Kay Kauffman!

  1. all the best KK, great interview Kevin.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] #AceSalesNews – May.17: Another great Indie interview by: KAI Presents… Kay Kauffman! http://kevs-domain.net/2015/05/15/kai-presents-kay-kauffman/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanx so much for introducing us to Kay. She has so much going on , and so to say!
    I enjoyed your interview .
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] even an excerpt from A Song for All Seasons.  It’s a lot of fun, and I hope you’ll check it out. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely covers. Admittedly I don’t read a lot of poetry, but there are moments when I love spending a lazy afternoon outside with a book of poems. The cover for Tuesday Daydreams makes me want to do just that!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Beautiful interview. I feel like I’ve met Kay in person, over a cup of tea. I lover her poetry you show here, and will use it to inspire my creative writing students to write more haiku. The covers of these books are wonderful – and inspiring me to ratchet up my game for the cover of my next book.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

