38 Comments

Prepping for a Signing!

I’ve got a signing booked for the early part of July folks. Talk about exciting! (and nervous as hell… You guessed it… first one.) 😀 😀 😀

Anyway, you know me. I’ve been doing a little bit of prep work:

I decided, hey why not modify my pic that I used to spread the word about my price drops on Amazon and use it as a real book banner in my signing?  The result:

Book Arrange

I took stock of what books I have on hand and ordered quite a few more since my stock was somewhat depleted from when I placed ads in the local paper:

IMG_0036

And, I bought some thick card-like printer paper, a laminator and some laminating sheets for the following bookmarks I created to give out as freebies. As I’ll need to print off several sheets of these, I’d better drop by The Range tomorrow to buy a good paper cutter… one of those slicer-type deals. 😉

Wiz

Exciting times folks… Exciting times! 😀

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

38 comments on “Prepping for a Signing!

  1. Good ideas! Thanks, Kev.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How exciting Kev. I feel for you, as I know how nervous I will be when I endeavor to poke my head out into the ‘Here I am World’. Great prepping. But I can’t help but wonder, with the purchasing of laminate paper, a cutter and printing, would it not have been easier to just order some rack cards from a printer?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Debbie. That’s exactly how I feel! Err, easier yes, but where’s the challenge and excitement in that? I like to live a little. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent, Kev, have fun with it! Love the new photo and the bookmarks are brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ll be a hit, Kev! @v@ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Woohoo, what great times, Kev. Happy signing and hope the paper cutter served you well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. its a great achievement Kevin! more to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Way to go, Kev, all the best for your collection and achievements. Looking all very good

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reblogged this on Ace Sales & Authors News and commented:
    This is a real tribute to consummate guy and well deserved my friend Ian 👍 Here as well http://flip.it/2Vwc8

    Like

  9. Congratulations on your enterprise and achievements! Looking really good.
    I’d lend you my cutter, but collecting it might give a teensy weensy problem …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lesley! Err… tempted to take you up on your offer, but perhaps you’re right. No, wait, I’m having a thought… I could hire a boat and send my beloved to collect it… Err, Nope, better not mention that one… I have a niggly feeling that it might not do. Oh, well, one can but try and as Pat says, I’m very trying! Back to original plan, then, but thanks all the same! 😀

      Like

  10. Great ideas. I find that a bowl of candy is a great way to get folks to my table too. Have fun at your signing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So excited for you, Kev. I’ve never done a book-signing, but am trying to line up with a local bookstore in my area. I’m sure I’d be extremely nervous too, but it sounds like you’ve thought things out and you’re prepared. Your banner is awesome and I love the bookmarks. Oh a side note, I never thought of running an ad for my books in the local papers. Hmmm. Must seriously look into that.

    Will be cheering you on at your debut event! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your shouts of enthusiasm Mae, it’s really encouraging. I done a few ads in the locals, one didn’t do anything for me and seemed a complete waste of time, but another had folks ringing me asking if I still had any copies left. (same paper) So, it’s pretty much like all other marketing, you win some, you lose some. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm. Thanks for the feedback. I might give it a try.,.maybe also try a press release which would be freebie assuming it gets picked up. So many avenues to try! I. Hope your signing goes ballistic!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Always worth a try. If you do a press release, throw a copy my way and put it on Indie Books Emporium for ye. 😉

          Like

  12. Don’t be nervous Kevin. Is going to be a lot of fun… believe me! As Mrs. N. is suggesting, get some exercising with a special autograph! Peoples like to get them special and some sort of “fancy” in mine I include a couple of flowers over the letter “i” Cheers LOL :-)c

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Claudine. I appreciate the additional advice. I shall work on a new, author signature… don’t know about flowers though… maybe a star. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Meant to add: please let me know how it goes. Congratulations on the signing!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great collection. Will you have copies of all books on hand for signing, or just the latest one? Hope you sell every copy and have a multitude of requests for more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will have plenty of my three main books, but only a couple on hand of the short story and my poetry books. I will not bother taking the Spanish translation of my short story. Thank you!

      Like

  15. Many congratulations Kev. I am sure the signing will be a success. All the best. Kev (the other one)!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Congrats on the signing. Please update us on how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Way to go Kev! I love the book banner and of course the bookmarks rock! Have you practiced signing your name yet? Always a good idea and bring plenty of pens.:) Exciting times is right!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mrs N! I was in management for years where I had to sign documents throughout the day, every day… I might just have my signature down. lol Actually, it’s more like GP’s siggy due to getting tired of doing it all those years, but it’ll have to do. 😀 My book marks will be have my name written and signed on them… on the reverse. Hopefully they’ll keep their worth in paper. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

John Brackenridge

Writer, comedian, druid.

arctic books

literary & lifestyle blog

kendrawaters

A Writer's World

tuhinpower

Bubbly Talks

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Author Sharmishtha Basu's Little World

I dreamt for stars, gathered stardust in my soul, sprinkling some to earth now, waiting for them to grow up in dream wood.

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS OF EVERYDAY LIFE

Humorous Observations of Animals, People, Places, Things, and Popular Culture

Didi Oviatt

Author of suspense novels Search For Maylee (coming soon), Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians. As well as the short story collection Time Wasters and (co-author of) The Suspenseful Collection. Columnist for The Conscious Talk Magazine.

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

bookriot

Let's review

The Alley of Museums

there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you - Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

