49 Comments

Blog Tour: Author, Kim Cox… #RRBC

More Than 10 Questions with Author, Kim Cox

KC - Author Photo

  1. What book genre do you love to read?

Mysteries and thrillers or a mixture of the two along with a little romance thrown into the recipe for good measure.

  1. What genre do you write?

A variation of the above. I have written sweet Romances, Romantic Mystery Thrillers or Romantic Suspense, and Paranormal Mysteries.

  1. What made you choose the genre?

I write what I love if I’m capable. I’ve always been pretty good at figuring out a mystery both in books and movies before anyone else. I love untangling the puzzle and the intrigue of the genre. Scary movies growing up were my favorites and I’ve always loved reading about ghosts and hauntings.

I love a good romance but I could never write a romantic comedy, although, I love those types of movies. I just don’t get comedy. I’m one of those who hear a joke and laugh when I finally get it an hour later. However, I’m often surprised when someone laughs at something I’ve said or written.

  1. What is the working title of your next book?

I’m working on two books right now. The first is a romantic suspense, Before We Wed, and the other is a paranormal mystery, Haunted by Her Past.

  1. Where did you get the idea for the book(s)?

They are books in two different series. Before We Wed is the second book in the Style and Profile series, and Haunted by Her Past is the fifth book in the Lana Malloy Paranormal Mystery series.

  1. Tell us a little about the book(s) you’re working on.

In Before We Wed, a secondary character, Sarah, from All This Time (book one in the series), is left at the alter when her husband-to-be is arrested and dragged off to jail. When it seems he will be convicted of the crime, he tells her not to come back to see him. Sarah does everything she can to prove his innocence.

  1. What comes first, the character or the story?

Both I think come to mind simultaneously, but more of the story and then I sort of hold auditions for the characters to fit the circumstances and the type of character that’s needed.

  1. Do you use actors/actresses as models for your character?

I didn’t always, but yes, I do now. But I only use them for appearance purposes to keep me familiar with what they look like. I also write a few paragraphs on each character—usually more than what I need.

  1. If yes, who did you use for the characters in the Lana Malloy Paranormal Mystery series?

I have a whole casting page for the series on my Pinterest site at https://www.pinterest.com/kimwrtr/casting-for-lana-malloy-paranormal-mystery-series/.

I’ll list the main characters as I see them here:

Main Character: Lana Malloy – Angie Harmon

Love Interest in the Beginning, more later: Anthony (Tony) Davide Calabria III – Andy Garcia (as he appeared in Godfather III)

Lana’s Aunt: Lucy Ann Malloy – Betty White

Lana’s Best Friend: Demi Lancaster – Gabrielle Union

  1. Are you a jump right into the writing or do you plot?

I’m mostly a write by the seat of my pants girl, but I do plot also. I start with an idea and I normally know where the story will begin and sort of how it will end. I try to begin the book with some type of action or a conversation between characters.

I write 2 or 3 chapters and then I go back and write a brief synopsis. Then I may write anything that pops into my head about the background of one or more characters. Then at some point during the writing process, I’ll find images of the characters that are in my head.

  1. Do you do any research before or during the writing process?

I may research a place if it’s somewhere I’ve never been or a long time since I’ve been there before I start writing. Generally, I mark areas with brackets [[   ]] that I need to research and make sure to do that before the second edit. It’s best I not to mess with my flow during the writing process.

  1. Have you read any good books lately?

Oh yes. I just finished, The One Discovered by Yvette Calleiro and loved it. It’s a young adult fantasy. It’s the first book in a series. It was so good I wanted to start the second book right away, and I have the second book on my Kindle right now, but I had other books lined up that I need to read first.

I also read Into Dark Waters by Rebecca Reilly that was wonderful. I believe there could definitely be a sequel to that book or at least another book with some of the same characters that got pretty close. Rebecca has a wonderful relaxed style and you could tell she had firsthand knowledge of cruise ships. I can’t wait to read her book, Haunting Megan, that sounds awesome.  I believe I own all but one of her books now.

I loved the first book in Gordon Bickerstaff’s Gavin Shawlens Thriller series so much I now own all of his fiction books. I don’t usually like medical thrillers but this one pulled me right in and kept me enthralled to the very end.

There are just so many wonderful authors that I’m beginning to love that I never knew before and I can’t wait to pick up all their books. I can highly recommend Lori Soard, Maureen McMahon, Sheryl Hames Torres, Elizabeth Delisi, Amy Reece, Harmony Kent, and William Stuart. I’m sure I’m leaving some out. There are just so many.

And right now, I’m reading Bravura by Lisa Kirazian and loving it.

About Kim

KC - Author PhotoKim Cox is an author of Paranormal, Mystery, Suspense and Romance. She lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina with her chain saw artist husband, their West Highland White Terriers–Scooter and Harley, and a Yorkie mix, Candi. Kim is published in novels, short stories and articles.

Sign up for Kim’s Readers List for exclusive information, new releases, contests, giveaways, and free books.

Visit her at the following sites:

Author’s Website: http://www.kimcoxauthor.com

Blogs: Kim’s Musings, Kim’s Author Support Page

Amazon Author Page: http://amazon.com/author/kimcox

Social Media locations:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kimcoxauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KimCoxAuthor

Google: https://plus.google.com/+KimCoxAuthor/posts

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/kimcox

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kimwrtr/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kimwrtr

A ROMANTIC SUSPENSE NOVEL

In the city of Boston lies a story of revenge and hidden identity. Ryan Donatelli, posing as Thomas Randolph, sets out to avenge his sister’s death, even if it means using Sam Southard’s daughter to do it. After all, Ryan is sure Sam’s responsible.

Natalie Southard is determined to keep her family business out of the hands of known crime boss, Nick DeMarco. After her father is killed, Natalie and Ryan are forced to run for their lives. But, will they live long enough for their hearts to heal once everything is revealed?

SM - Book Cover

EXCERPT

“Is that her?” Detective Walsh asked, talking around the wad of gum in his mouth.

Ryan Donatelli tugged at the neck of his old football jersey while he looked everywhere but at the body on the steel examination table. The morgue walls were closing in on him. “I don’t know.” Even to him, his voice sounded tinny and far off. “Shelley’s small, but this woman seems much smaller. It’s hard to say.” The obvious resemblance struck him, but he looked for any reason he could to deny it.

“Dehydration from the burns,” the gray-haired coroner said. “It changes the facial appearance.”

Ryan glanced up and noticed the older man’s immense nose and his astonishing resemblance to the comedian and singer, Jimmy Durante.

The detective shrugged. “Well, if you can’t be sure, I guess we’ll just have to— Wait a minute! What about this?” Walsh removed a small envelope from his jacket pocket and extracted a plastic bag containing a necklace that had been tagged for evidence.

Ryan’s stomach spasmed. Acid scorched his throat. Every conscious thought screamed denial, yet his trembling hand reached for the bag. Under the fluorescent lights, the ruby pendant glowed like a hot ember. He squeezed it in his palm, trying to feel its pulsing warmth—like the warmth of Shelley’s smile.

Oh, God! It was as cold as the body on the table.

“You okay?” The detective’s voice was muffled.

Ryan wanted to laugh at the stupidity of the question, but at this moment, mirth was a foreign emotion to him.

With his index finger, he traced the outline of the small stone before turning it over to read the inscription he knew he would find. Unshed tears blurred his vision, but there it was. Happy B-day, Love, R.

“It’s Shelley,” he said and turned away. He could no longer deny the evident truth, or hang onto the tiniest thread of hope that this was a terrible mistake.

Sweet, stubborn Shelley, his baby sister. She’d never argue politics, movies or anything mundane as the weather again. Shelley loved to challenge him. She’d made him think in new ways and consider new options. What would he do without her?

 

Editorial Review Quotes

 

 “…Will keep you reading right to the end. Kim Cox’s characters are so well developed that you feel like you know them. The plot contains enough red herrings and spine-tingling chills to keep you rooted in the story.”–CathyGladstone,Simegen.com

“Suspicious Minds is an intriguing read, providing the reader with several plots, which add to the complexity of the story.” -Tina, Timeless Tales

“…Filled with interesting characters and a few twists. It keeps the reader on the edge of their seat wondering what is coming next. Natalie and Ryan are great characters…”–Hattie Boyd, Writer’s Club Romance Group

SM - Book Cover

Buy Now

Read more

 

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

49 comments on “Blog Tour: Author, Kim Cox… #RRBC

  1. Another terrific post, Kim! It’s great getting to know you better. I love your casting idea. I hope you enjoyed your “Spotlight” honour. You certainly deserve it! 🙂
    Thanks for having us, Kev!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’re chalking up some great interviews, Kim! 😀
    Thanks for having us over, Kevin 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great interview and I love the idea of a casting list for your characters, Kim. I hope you are enjoying your spotlight tour. You deserve it for being so much support to everyone else at #RRBC Thanks for hosting Kevin.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you for the shoutout, Kim! I’ve finished the other book that I was reading, and I am now reading Get Out or Die. 🙂 I’ve been asked before what actor/actress I would choose to play my characters, and I’m so bad with names and faces that I can never figure it out. lol!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Great! I hope you enjoy Get Out or Die. It’s a bit different than Haunted Hearts. Lucy isn’t really in it except for maybe a mention but I’m sure she’s working her magic in the background. She does reappear in The Wedding Crasher and Christmas Cruise.

      I’m also bad with names. I google searched for actors/actresses/models with specific characteristics such as hair color and/or eye color and then scrolled through the images to find the one closest to what I envision my character to look like. For the cruise ship and houses, I researched these for the book, and I used the images. I found during that process.

      You’re welcome for the mention. You deserve it. I loved the book. I haven’t written the review yet. I now have four reviews to write I think. Hope to get those done today or at least before I have to go back to work on Tuesday. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I never thought about googling characteristics (I can’t believe I just used Google as a verb. *rolls eyes*).Maybe one day when I don’t have anything to do (hahahahaha) I will see what comes up for my characters. 🙂 Don’t worry about taking long with the review. I get behind on mine sometimes as well. Life is busy, and priorities must be made. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I think Pinterest is my favorite social media. It’s such fun finding images about not only your characters, but also the story itself. I also like to include information about the story images.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Great Q&A, Kim. I’m enjoying learning more about you and your books on your Spotlight tour! Best of luck with your writing and books in progress 🙂

    Kevin, thanks for hosting Kim today 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I’ve never done this thing of casting the characters but it has got me thinking now! I like the look of Suspicious Minds, it is now on my tbr.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Bill! Suspicious Minds starts Kindle Countdown today and will be 99 cents until the 31st at 8 a.m. EST. It’s also free to read on Kindle Unlimited. All This Time is supposed start 99 cents for the same dates, but Amazon hasn’t changed the price yet. You can find it at Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, etc. for 99 cents.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I also meant to say, casting can be lots of fun. Give it a try. You can do it at some point during writing to help you remember or you can wait until you finish the book. I have done it both ways. For example, for Christmas Cruise, there were 10 ghosts killed within the last 10 years on the cruise ship. To keep those 10 separate in my mind, I decided to go ahead and look up images of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the casting page, Kim. A fun idea. Maybe we’ll see your work on the big screen one day.

    Thanks for hosting, Kevin.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the support! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • That would be nice! Thank you, Beem! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • I had thought of writing a screenplay for Suspicious Minds years ago, but I have no idea how and then decided to stick to what I know. I have a friend who wrote a couple of books and then started writing scripts for movies. I remember seeing an advertisement about a movie script she’d co-written. It had something to do with the first female executed in the U.S. for her crimes. I’ve forgotten the names and the titles. The author’s name was Lyn Morgan or Lyn Lawrence I think. Can’t remember.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Kim, I love your Pinterest casting board idea! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you on your tour. I think we are a lot alike in how we think and write. Thanks for the shout out!
    Thank you, Kev, for hosting!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Reblogged this on Rebecca Reilly – Author.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Great interview Kev and Kim. Lovely to get to know Kim better. Nice excerpts and glowing editorial reviews. Good luck with your book! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Good excerpt. Nice taster.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Great interview and fantastic review quotes. Looking forward to reading Kim’s books! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Thanks, Kev, for hosting me. I appreciate your awesome support!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thumbs up for casting Betty White in the part! Great interview Kev – good questions! It’s nice to meet Kim and I love the title “Before We Wed.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you and nice to meet you, too, Christy. The aunt Lucy character has a quirky personality smilar to Betty White’s character in “Hot in Cleveland.” I’m glad you like the “Before We Wed” title. I thought it would fit the story nicely.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Appreciate the support, Christy. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  16. Great interview, and I loved your pinterest casting board, Kim. I’m going to have to do that for my books.

    It also sounds like we like the same kind of reads and sorta/kinda follow creating stories in the same way.

    Congrats on your latest. This was a fun interview and I enjoyed getting to know you better!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Mae! I have your book on my TBR too and can’t wait. It was fun creating a casting board. I also have images of places, homes, etc. on the board.

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

...and his Maniacally Fueled Fodder

True Strange Library

Xeno's strange news awards blog.

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS

A Humorous look at the Absurdity of the World Around Us.

Didi Oviatt

Author of the Time Waster Series-Super Short Preludes, and suspense novels Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians... (blogger)

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

