41 Comments

Conflicted Hearts

20504604SYNOPSIS: Somehow I believed it was my obligation to try to do the right thing by her because she had given birth to me.

Burdened with constant worry for her father and the guilt caused by her mother’s narcissism, D.G. Kaye had a short childhood. When she moved away from home at age eighteen, she began to grow into herself, overcoming her lack of guidance and her insecurities. Her life experiences became her teachers, and she learned from the mistakes and choices she made along the way, plagued by the guilt she carried for her mother.

Conflicted Hearts is a heartfelt journey of self-discovery and acceptance, an exploration of the quest for solace from emotional guilt.

REVIEW: Get on the rollercoaster and ride with Debbie as she shares her experiences in life. From dealing with her parent’s tumultuous relationship as a child with its many break-ups, separations, and house moves, to becoming a pawn in her mother’s endless games that robbed her of her childhood.

What really grabbed me was how her childhood experiences influenced her decisions as a blooming adult and the relationships she had while consistently grappling with her mother’s narcissism.

There are moments that will completely captivate you. One of those moments for me was her adventure in Greece, another, the first real love and heartbreak… I could go on, but I don’t want to give away too much.

As if being caught in the throes of narcissism isn’t enough, multiple health issues, and an abusive cohabitation take their toll as well.

The entire work is presented perfectly, and with such honestly… I believed every word and often reflected upon the courage of the writer. It’s excellent… Five Stars!

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

41 comments on “Conflicted Hearts

  1. I liked the way you reviewed this, Kev.
    It sounds like a fascinating book concerning family enduring pain, hurt and some dysfunctional elements. Hope to see this added to many “must read” piles. Along with I will fill out a (Delaware, Ohio) Library Requisition slip for Deb’s book! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow, what a great review. I had a narcissistic father, and I need to read this book. We do overcome to a point, but children of extreme narcissistic people struggle with issues all their lives, and I still do. Love your bio, Kev. Would you like to do an interview on my blog, Just Write?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Marsha, I’m glad you enjoyed the review and am sure you will enjoy reading Debby’s book. Yes, people from all forms of abuse tend to struggle with issues throughout their lives. Thank you for the compliment, it’s greatly appreciated. I would be honoured to do an interview on your blog… I can be reached by email: kevincooper63@live.com.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well deserved, Debby. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow Kev! I am just over the moon, Thank you soooooooooooo much, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] If you missed this review you can check it out here: Conflicted Hearts […]

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This sounds like a story of my own life in the beginning. Well done review, Kev. I’d like to check this book out.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. A fantastic review. Read this book some time ago and I agree with Kevin. A fabulous read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. […] Kevin read my book and kindly posted the review on his page, KCbooksandmusic . […]

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Okay, now I’ve just added this book to my ‘must-read’ list. Thanks for the excellent review.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Reblogged this on writerchristophfischer and commented:
    I’ve just finished this book and also found it excellent!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Wonderful review. A probing read, at once revealing but not self-pitying.
    Read it ages ago and reviewed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Kevin Cooper with a sterling review for D.G. Kaye’s book Conflicted Hearts.. Delighted to see this review for Debby’s work.. fantastic job Kevin.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Thanks for this marvelously mindful review. Debby is surely delightful. Mega hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. You’re more than welcome, Debby. This is in fact a new-ish blog… I just startied doing stuff again, quite recently after taking a few months break from it all, as you will understand. I had saved a file of the other blog I’d deleted and just recently imported it all into here… So, you haven’t really missed a whole lot. 🙂

    Do let me know when you’re ready to release that sequel… Maybe an interview about it? Let me know. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Thank you so much Kev. I was delighted to find that you had read this book and even more with your kind review. A lovely surprise. I shall be reblogging on the weekend. And PS, I didn’t even know you were still running this blog, my apologies, I’m back following this one too. 🙂
    Also, thought I’d note that I am currently in rewrites on the sequel to this book, the aftermath – an understanding and forgiveness after my mother’s death.Title: P.S. I Forgive You.

    Like

  16. I loved this book by Debbie… I read it when it came out and it was so compelling and well written… thanks for sharing, dear Kev!… sending love. Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  17. DG is a shining example in every way. Thrilled to see her book here and your review.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. I have this book and can’t wait to read it 🙂 Great review, Kev.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

