6 Comments

Great Reviews for Miedo

41C9jZPkqYL._SX312_BO1,204,203,200_I’m raving over my reviews for Miedo folks!

I was checking my Amazon profile this morning to see if I needed to do any updates (as you do from time to time) when I noticed I had more reviews for Miedo than I remembered. One was very recent… Late April this year! The other I don’t remember reading was done last year as were several others!  I was so happy with them, I had to share!


GREAT REVIEWS FOR MIEDO

It’s a hard life living in the shadow of a family. Real and imaginary monsters scare the wits out of Miedo. Bedwetting, hearing impairment and living in a mostly uncaring world are just some of the problems this child deals with.
Kevin Cooper writes this tale like a stream of thoughts. This book might not appeal to everyone, however, the writing is consistent throughout the book and carries a kind of charm because the boy through it all deals with his lot with acceptance and complacency. Blessed are the unaware.

—Christina Steiner


Miedo: Living Beyond Childhood Fear is a mesmerizing story of a child’s difficult and fearful time growing up. All Miedo wants from his family is to be accepted and loved but instead he must deal with rejection, bullying, taunting, and trickery from his sisters, stepmother, father and grandfather.

Miedo tries to solve his problems on his own and find friends who will accept him and fill the void in his empty life. There are many heartbreaking things that happen to him but he somehow deals with each one in turn. The question is how will Miedo deal with the demons he cannot understand? With whom can he share his fears!

A profoundly touching and heartbreaking story that brought tears to my eyes. I look forward to reading book two. The author has poured his heart and soul into this memorable memoir that will stay with this reader for a long time.

I highly recommend this unforgettable book to all.

—Jjspina


This book stuck with me for a few months after I finished reading it. The story is a memoir, rambling through the day to day events in the life of a young boy – some of them sweetly ordinary, others confusing, and some terrifying. It begins with a glimpse of a stable life that quickly falls apart when Miedo moves from his grandparents’ home to live with his father, stepmother, and sisters. Experiences of abuse, neglect, and emotional trauma leave him fending for himself as he navigates family, school, and friendships. Just when it seems he is escaping the nightmares of his early youth…his story takes another turn. The narration style, typical of memoirs, is engaging, and I had a hard time putting the book down.

—Diana

Bullying, family systems that don’t work, hope and despair, grit and determination, repeated abuse and bravado–it’s all here. Along with mystery and wonder about what will become of Miedo. I found Miedo’s attachment to certain places and people particularly moving–his points of contact with a somewhat safer and kinder world. These descriptions tended to be idealized–a way of surviving the horror? In his inner world, Miedo is focused and intent on surviving. He is courageous and resourceful from the beginning, despite repeated day and nighttime horrors that come without warning. If anyone thinks bullying by family members or schoolmates is ‘harmless,’ this account will demonstrate otherwise. This first book is a perfect setup for whatever comes next. I applaud the author for his courage to tell it like it is and was.

—Marie


It’s not often that my jaw physically drops when I’m reading a book, especially in a biographical drama where you know you can expect a real life shocker or two, so you’re pretty much expecting them to come. I had a couple of those moments reading Miedo with the matter of fact way that Kevin Cooper tells his story. I read it in two sittings, because at every point you just have to know what happens next, and now I’m hoping that there will be much more to come from Miedo.
The author has a unique way of drawing you into these early years in a way that will keep you riveted, and the mixture of joy, shock, and some real hair-raising terror that are so skilfully woven into some of the delights of childhood not only had me right there in Miedo’s life, but also remembering things about my own childhood that I’m sure I wouldn’t have otherwise. The descriptive scenes in this book did for me what very few books do, and had me not only seeing the apple tree in the garden, but smelling the blossoms too. Even if the characters in this book were all fictitious it still makes for a five star read, and believe me when I say that a couple of them, like Miedo’s sisters, make for some definite jaw-dropping moments. For all the twists and turns in this child’s life, even though I was sometimes appalled at some of the things that happened to him, his strength shines through always, and you always feel rather safe and somehow comfortable in his presence. Wonderful reading, and I fully recommend it.

—Jo

blogimage2

All abovevReviews, and more can be found Amazon. If these reviews inspired you, here are a couple of links to Miedo: Living Beyond Childhood Fear:

AmazonUS/AmazonUK

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

6 comments on “Great Reviews for Miedo

  1. Thanks Mae… They’re far better than I ever expected. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! What great reviews, Kev! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

