19 Comments

Miedo 3 (Serialisation) Episode 1

I have decided to write Miedo 3 as a serialisation of blog posts. I do hope you all enjoy it. I have no plans as to how long this will be or how often I will post an episode, but I will create a page with links to each one I do in case you miss any.

Miedo 3: Fragments of Fear

Episode 1: Prologue

“Footfalls echo in the memory, down the passage we did not take, towards the door we never opened, into the rose garden.”  T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets

 

It was lovely downtown. The sun was shining, there was a skip in my step, and I felt on top of the world while buying a few bits and bobs for my journey when I ran in to Julie.

Now Julie was an old girlfriend who had bailed out on me while I was in hospital for ear surgery. I hadn’t seen her for years. Those of you who have read my second journal of events so far in, Miedo 2: A Reckoning With Fear will already be acquainted with our relationship.

Here she was, the last person I would ever expect to see again, and the furthest person from my mind crossing the road on Prospect Street; heading straight towards me.

“Kev! You’re alive! I thought you died in hospital. Oh my God! How are ye!”

I was a bit dumb-founded to be honest… You see, Julie was my first, you know… And here she was. I must admit, I thought she was looking a bit worse for wear since our crazy days together.

“What you doing later?” She continued as she tried to accost me without giving me the chance to answer the first question. (Either she hadn’t noticed the shiny new band of gold around my finger that says, ‘married!’ or didn’t care… probably the latter.) “Er, oh, hi Julie. Look I’m kinda in a hurry right now, sorry, but it’s nice to see ye.”

Her enthusiasm died on the spot.

“Oh, alright, well look me up, ok?”

“Er, yeah, alright… bye!”

“Bye Kev.”

Phew, that turned out much easier than anticipated; what a relief!

Later it dawned on me that this could have been my one opportunity to find out if Julie had truly gotten pregnant earlier, or if it was just gossip. And If so, was it mine or not? Was it a boy or a girl? What name was given? Questions that would arise in my mind time and again in later years.

Soon after my encounter with Julie, I ran into Dave. Readers will have become well-acquainted with Dave in my first journal of events: Miedo: Living Beyond Childhood Fear as one of my best friends.

Isn’t it strange what gets thrown in your path just as your about to make one of the biggest changes in your entire life?

I was getting ready to immigrate to America and having gotten a few necessities from down town, I was just about to board the bus heading to my grandma’s for one last visit before going to what would be my last evening service at church when I heard a familiar voice calling my name. It was Dave.

Now I hadn’t seen Dave in years, not since he’d left for his tour of Germany with the army. I couldn’t believe it! “Dave!” I cried in response. I found myself caught up in the middle of a dilemma. It was getting late and I needed to see my grandma, I literally had one foot on and one foot off the bus, and the driver was muttering something incoherently and making one hell of a face as I turned my attention to Dave.

It all happened in a moment, and in that eternal moment so much was understood that went unspoken, then he suddenly said, “Hey, we’ll catch up later!” I responded without thinking, “Yeah… later! As soon as my other foot entered the bus, the driver closed the door and the bus began to move. It was too late to change my mind. We waved excitedly to each other. I never saw him again.

It was just a moment; a split decision about which foot to move; one which is burned into my memory forever. Why didn’t I simply step off and catch the next bloody bus?!

Later that night, outside the church doors, (Everyone had already left.) I was simply saying my last goodbyes internally, taking it all in with reflection when Ellie approached me. Ellie and I had a bit of history, and we dated lightly for a while. Her father had taken to me too, and always asked me to ‘look after her’ when she was in Hull, which I did best I could. I fell for Ellie, but we kind of went our separate ways. I don’t even know how it happened. I couldn’t believe it when she approached me. She had made as to leave, and then turned back in the hope of catching me alone.

“I wanted to apologise for everything, Kev. You know… The way everybody treated you in church. I wanted to tell you that I never took part in it, and I tried to tell them they misunderstood you; that you are nothing like what they think. I hope you will be very happy in America. Love you Kev.”

She kissed me full on the lips, looked deep into my eyes and said, “I just wanted you to know.” Then she stepped back, waved and walked away. I watched her walk gracefully down Constable Street, stunned, frozen in place.

I’d forgotten how sweet her lips were. Suddenly, all those old feelings for her came rushing on me like a storm raging inside. I almost called her back, but the words didn’t come. I even began to wonder if I was doing the right thing. Ellie was long gone by the time I recovered myself. I did so with strict admonishment about being newly married and having a beautiful loving wife waiting for me over in America.

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

19 comments on “Miedo 3 (Serialisation) Episode 1

  1. Great storytelling, I love Miedo books!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Okay, now I’m stuck. Lol, I am so close to reading the first and second book, growing mold on my kindle, and now I’m starting on book 3? This doesn’t seem right, lol. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Very, very interesting, Kev. I like the pacing, the dialogue, the sense of almost regret, of what a split-second decision might mean if you went one way or the other. Compelling storytelling and I’ll be looking for subsequent chapters!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks Ina, that’s very encouraging. 🙂

    Like

  5. Great, Kev. Don’t worry about not knowing how long it will be – I have a cheerful knack it’ll be just the right length as you will go with the flow that comes to you. Good luck and I know I will enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Looking forward to the next installment Kev

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Happy to read along, Kev 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I had to read this immediately! So looking forward to these posts 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

