24 Comments

Calling All Beta Readers!

BlogProAs many of you know, I’ve just started my serialisation of Miedo 3: Fragments of Fear. This is completely new to me and I will writing it as I go, meaning it will therefore be completely unedited. (God, that makes me so nervous!) This is way out of my comfort zone!

So, I would greatly appreciate all who would like to act as beta readers for me and be willing to provide me with any comments: Changes you might make, errors you notice that need correcting, (He says with trepidation.) if you think something at anytime would be better in a different place… just about anything at all, really!

All episodes to date can be found on the Miedo 3: Fragments of Fear (serialisation) page.

Thank you so very much in advance!

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

24 comments on “Calling All Beta Readers!

  1. Will roll my sleeves up then, Kev πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:
    Not sure how much help I will be but perhaps someone else will look at the post and offer their service. I will be reading for the sheer joy of reading.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sounds great …. It is a good way to get feedback as long as you are writing… Many writers trust this method, so I am sure it is useful and worth it, dear Kev… Very good luck with your writing!… happy weekend. Aquileana πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi. I don’t have time but beta readers helped me for free, so I should return or forward the consideration. I can read some but not all. Good luck.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Every little bit helps, Caroline and I would not expect anyone to go beyond what they feel comfortable doing. All considerations are an invaluable asset to me, no matter how great or small. Thanks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Reblogged this on Siefken Publications and commented:
    Can we help out a fellow author?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Absolutely, Kev. Honoured to be one of your Beta readers. I just started offering suggestions on Episode 2. Would you prefer I do so by email?

    I can understand your being nervous about sharing this with us. I’d be nervous too.

    But:
    The thing about first and second drafts of a memoir is that they are supposed to be ‘the gushing’ — where you tell the story without worrying about the refining and the fixing at this stage. So I won’t pay much attention to the tiny stuff right now and will focus only on anything that significantly interrupts the storytelling flow and appeal of the story. Okay?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh thanks, Cynthia… that’s very kind and giving of you. I just saw your comment on the other post. I’ll leave it to you to contact me with anything by which means you find most comfortable and easier for yourself. You have my email address if you want to do it that way.

      Sounds like a great plan… Thanks again. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • FWIW, I think that the more comments there are on serialised books tend to generate more comments and can lead to interesting discussion for everyone. Obviously up to you and Kev. But I think if he is putting it out for commentary, at least some responses would be better in public. We can all learn.

      When I’ve read serialised novels on blogs, the main problem has been losing track midway through. I doubt Kev will do this, as his books tend to be short and sweet. So to speak/write.

      Liked by 3 people

  7. Kev, I’ll put this on social media, but I did want to let you know that when a book is in serialization online, some publishers will not look at it because the work is considered “published” and they don’t want to publish something that’s already been published. Just a thought, since I don’t know what your plan is for the book once it’s done. Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Amy, I am actually aware of the publishing issues, and really appreciate you highlighting that in case I wasn’t. I plan on doing a self-pub for this one later just to make it more available. I’m doing the serialisation as a way to raise more awareness to my style of writing, and for the new experience. I like to try new things and see how they pan out. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. […] Source: Calling All Beta Readers! […]

    Liked by 2 people

  9. The right person will turn up. Wish I wasn’t currently overwhelmed with projects, one of which is a Memoirs & Music event with Cynthia Reyes for the fall.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I most certainly wouldn’t wish to take anyone away from other events! Much appreciated, all the same. Big fan of Cynthia’s. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Good luck Kev. I’m better at looking at a finished novel, so I’ll wait until the end to comment. I have read serialised novels on blogs, but not as a beta which I think needs a more rigorous approach than just as a blog commenter. It will be interesting to see how it goes πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Kate… It’s a new approach, for me anyway. Every little helps when it comes to help with writing. I’ll look forward to your comment(s) at the end. From here on everything is completely new, even for you. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just a quick reminder, you do know that publishing a serialised novel on your blog eliminates it from the possibility of bein trad published? ie it’s previously been published elsewhere (the blog).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yep, well aware thanks. I don’t plan on doing anything beyond a basic self-pub for this one, just to make it more available… All other works will be going through my new publisher… Wallace Publishing with whom I’ve just signed a contract.

          Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Please sharpen your faculties and help Kev πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

John Brackenridge

Writer, comedian, druid.

arctic books

literary & lifestyle blog

kendrawaters

A Writer's World

tuhinpower

Bubbly Talks

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Author Sharmishtha Basu's Little World

I dreamt for stars, gathered stardust in my soul, sprinkling some to earth now, waiting for them to grow up in dream wood.

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. πŸ˜„

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS OF EVERYDAY LIFE

Humorous Observations of Animals, People, Places, Things, and Popular Culture

Didi Oviatt

Author of suspense novels Search For Maylee (coming soon), Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians. As well as the short story collection Time Wasters and (co-author of) The Suspenseful Collection. Columnist for The Conscious Talk Magazine.

Neha Kundapur

Locked inside reality's maze

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends γ€Š

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

bookriot

Let's review

The Alley of Museums

there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you - Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” β€” Maya Angelou

