20 Comments

Miedo 3 (Serialisation) Episode 3

Miedo 3: Fragments of Fear

Chapter Two:

New Beginnings

Some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity. Gilda Radner

 

“The dead finally arises!”

Mike was sitting at the small table in the kitchen as I wandered through, eating some white stuff from a breakfast bowl. His wavy red hair looked a bit unkempt and he was looking at me with keen, bright blue eyes as he spoke with a grin on his face. He is a quiet-spoken man, older, and completely opposite to his brunette, brown-eyed sister I married who likes to project her voice at every opportunity and is rather proud of her ability to do so.

I could tell straight away that he was the kind of person who didn’t give a damn what people thought of him, and I liked that.

“Oh, morning Mike… Er, it is morning right?”

“Yep, but it’s Wednesday, you slept all the way through yesterday.” He said still grinning.

“What?!”

“Jet lag ‘ll do that to ya! You’ll be hungry. Here, want some grits?” he say’s offering me a bowl and pulling a packet that was as plain as the stuff in his bowl, from out of a box on the table.

“Did I seriously miss a d… Grits? What’s that?”

“You don’t have grits in England?”

“We have grit, but that’s something we throw on the roads mixed with salt to melt ice.” I replied, laughing.

“You can put salt on this too, it definitely helps, but I recommend, syrup.” He laughed back.

He was right. On their own, grits is the most tasteless vile thing I’d ever eaten.

“I hope Ellen is ok with me sleeping a day away. Where is she anyway?”

“Oh I wouldn’t worry ‘bout that. She’s over at WKU and asked me to drop by and look in on you while she finishes her classes today. She’ll be done in a couple of hours and we’ll be going out to eat. I gotta scoot soon and go get ready for work, but you’ll be Ok here with Nammie ‘til Ellen gets back.”

“Well, hello handsome, I see yer finally done gone woke up from yer beauty sleep. Has Mike bin taken good care of yers?”

“Hi Nammie, Er, yes he has. Thanks for having me, by the way.”

“Nonsense, besides, you’re all mine now. Ellen only thinks she has you.” She said laughing. At that Mike got up, kissed Nammie on the cheek and excused himself.

I sat and chatted with Nammie for a while in the living room. She sat on a single divan which she had there along the wall and I sat in one of the two arm-chairs on the opposite side of the living room which was rather narrow and long, but cozy.  Shortly afterwards Nammie’s friend, Ms Goertz with whom she was visiting when I first awoke, popped in. Nammie introduced us, but I couldn’t understand a word that Ms Goertz was saying, so I simply nodded and smiled, then quickly excused myself, stating that I’d like to have a look around the place and become familiar with it.

Heading out the door and straight down the corridor on my first adventure, I took the lift down. I thought nothing of it when I pushed the “ground” button. It made perfect sense that ground would take me to the bottom floor where I could exit and start my little adventure of familiarization.

It has to have been the fastest lift I’d ever been in. Damn, this is great!

The lift doors opened to the basement. So much for what makes sense. The basement was dark and had an ominous feel to it. Immediately realising this was not my intended destination, I quickly pushed the floor one button. No way in hell I’m getting out here! Hurry up… come on! I knew something evil was watching me… Come on! I pushed the floor one button a few more times while straining to see through the darkness. Oh shit, did something move over there? The lift door finally closed. Phew! Good thing I didn’t start to panic. Thankfully the lift was just as fast going up as coming down.

The doors opened to beautiful bright sunlight shining through two double doors that led out of the towers. I almost skipped towards them.

It was hot and humid in Bowling Green, Kentucky. Opening those doors was like opening an oven; a gust of hot air hit me in the face. I had never experienced anything like it. I stepped out into the Tower’s parking lot, made my way onto College street and proceeded to cross the road. I looked the wrong way before I stepped out and almost got hit by a car.

The person in the car honked at me and shouted all kinds of expletives at me. I was still trying to figure out why he was driving down the wrong side of the road. What an idiot… He could’ve killed me! It wasn’t until I’d walked down a few streets that I realised everybody was doing it. What amazed me more was how the traffic lights were suspended upon wires across the streets. At least they use the same colours… Thank God!

A huge black flying insect came fleeting by my head and quite took me by surprise. What is that? I became quite mesmerised by it while at the same time a little wary. Then I realised it was two together and they split up and danced around each other in the air. I learned from Mike later on that they were wasps.

I didn’t venture far, I was too busy standing around half the time taking things in and to make sure I looked both ways before I crossed a street… just in case. Plus, it was so darn hot! When I got back to the apartment, Ellen was back.

“There you are, I thought we were going to have to send out a search party!” She said smiling, then she kissed me and asked me about my morning. I retold the whole story starting from breakfast with her brother, Mike.

“He did not give you grits? Oh my God! Well, don’t worry, were going out to eat as soon as dad gets here and we’ll get you something proper to eat.”

“That sounds good, I’m bloody starving!”

***

I do hope you enjoyed this first part of chapter two and appreciate any comments and suggestions to things that could be improved. I hope to have the concluding part to chapter two ready for you soon. If you have missed the first two episodes, you can find them on my Miedo page. Thanks again for all your support. 

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

20 comments on “Miedo 3 (Serialisation) Episode 3

  1. Enjoying this series Kev. But I think I’ll pass on the grits. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the dialogue.
    The disorientation of landing in a new place where customs are different – works well. This chapter is a great mix of dialogue, description and self-talk.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had grits before…a few times, a few different ways. I think they must be an acquired taste and one I haven’t developed yet, LOL.

    A nice look at the routine of life, Kev. I liked the casual feel. As a suggestion, I would comb through again and look for repetitious words close together. Sometimes that “echo” stands out. In those cases, I would change one of the words to something different to kill that echo.

    Just a thought…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved this, especially the grits bit xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love being drawn in to the description of someone experiencing the common, familiar stuff (to me) for the first time … the heat, the traffic, well – except for the grits. I’ve never had grits and they aren’t sounding so appetizing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my, liked your first encounter with grits.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

