Addictions: What All Parents Need to Know to Survive the Drug Epidemic

29370001SYNOPSIS:

Addictions: What All Parents Need to Know to Survive the Drug Epidemic is a must have for individuals, residential recovery programs, out-patient programs, professional recovery coaches, aftercare professionals, counselors, therapists, probation officers, ministries, recovery retreats, sponsors, sober companions, and family members to help them to get a deeper understanding of the disease of addiction, the solution to the problem, and the program of action that promotes change in the substance abuser. A Support system for family and friends of substance abusers that helps to provide clarity, understanding, education, prevention, and awareness.

REVIEW: 

When I started reading this work, my first reaction was, ‘Cor-blimey this is a bit full-on!’ I was actually taken back by the no-messing; in your face approach. I was actually contemplating suggesting starting out with a compassionate message of hope.

I changed my mind about halfway through the book when I finally admitted to myself that I knew absolutely zilch about addiction, being fortunate enough never to have shown interest in drugs and the like, and no experience either directly or indirectly with the consequences… Thankfully. I also concluded that this must be one of those growing epidemic conditions that requires a full-on approach although I maintain that this could put a lot of people off.

Despite the approach, throughout the book, I could feel Rev Kev’s passion for this subject. The depth of knowledge and experience he imparts is nothing short of amazing. When he started getting into the psychological aspects of addiction, I began to realize how deeply his knowledge ran. I am no stranger to psychology, the DMR, and related treatments/therapies.

I was gifted this book through Amazon in exchange for an honest review. It is a great resource for families dealing with addiction.

My Review on other Sites

Amazon

Goodreads

 

10 thoughts on “Addictions: What All Parents Need to Know to Survive the Drug Epidemic

Comments are closed.