A Thousand Yesteryears

SYNOPSIS

Behind a legend lies the truth…

As a child, Eve Parrish lost her father and her best friend, Maggie Flynn, in a tragic bridge collapse. Fifteen years later, she returns to Point Pleasant to settle her deceased aunt’s estate. Though much has changed about the once thriving river community, the ghost of tragedy still weighs heavily on the town, as do rumors and sightings of the Mothman, a local legend. When Eve uncovers startling information about her aunt’s death, that legend is in danger of becoming all too real . . .

Caden Flynn is one of the few lucky survivors of the bridge collapse but blames himself for coercing his younger sister out that night. He’s carried that guilt for fifteen years, unaware of darker currents haunting the town. It isn’t long before Eve’s arrival unravels an old secret—one that places her and Caden in the crosshairs of a deadly killer . . .

REVIEW

If you haven’t read, A Thousand Yesteryears, you have yet to read the very best of Mae Clair. I thought she’d topped it with, Eclipse Lake which is an incredible read… Not so. This is by far, a more superior work.

I think the key ingredients that make this Clair’s best work to date come from the prominent research she dedicated herself to. She visited Point Pleasant on more than one occasion to acquaint herself with the area, its history, and to study in depth, the urban legends surrounding the place. In particular that of the Mothman.

There are no shortcuts when it comes to Mae Clair’s writing. She has skilfully weaved her research findings into a remarkable suspense-filled paranormal, murder/mystery.

My favourite parts of the story are Eve and Kate’s experience in the igloo… The bunker down in the TNT from where all kinds of sightings have been reported. And, the mysterious phone calls… Be afraid folks; Be very afraid!

This book would make a great movie!

My Review on Other Sites

Amazon

Goodreads

33 comments

    • I do love hearing about and seeiing one’s research come out in their work. It adds so much intrigue for me. I loved doing research in uni and when I was teaching, and I like to do some for my own books as well. I have no doubt, Mae will do very well with this one. Thanks Teagan. 😊

      Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know how I missed this comment before, but wanted to say thanks, Teagan. I spent two years researching this book and even visited the location where it’s set twice. It definitely helped when writing the story. Thanks for your interest and wishes!

      Liked by 2 people

    • That’s very kind of you, Ellie. Do feel free to email me if you would like me to consider one of your books in particular… I’m open to pretty much any genre. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aaah Kev, for some reason my computer would not open this link, I’ll try with my other one.

        Likewise, I appreciate your kindness. I’d hate to subject you to “chick lit” although someone once told me tongue in cheek “Sometimes Marriage is a Real Crime could be a warning manual to husbands” ha! And Casey’s Journey is set amidst the world of golf.

        Now I’m sure you have written a post on how to get reviews without begging or paying a “who-knows-what” Twitter company to advertise it. I’ll search through your blog and will check out the link you sent me. Appreciate you, thanks

        Like

        • Links do tend to be problematic at times. I tend to copy and paste email addresses I don’t already have into my mail program’s ‘to’ box. 😊

          I may have written something similar on another blog at some point. I don’t charge for reviews, but I don’t accept unsolicited files. I like to know what I’ll be reading before I agree to a review request.. I only write honest reviews with 1-5 star ratings. I advise that folks read my review policy before requesting a review, and read several of my reviews to aquaint themselves with the kind of things I look for. Hope this helps. 😊 😊

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for that wonderful review, Kev. I’m glad the amount of research and the time I devoted by visiting the area shines through in the book. It was such a great subject to wallow around in, writing the novel was a pleasure. I’m delighted you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.