Gateway to Magic

GatewayToMagicFrontCoverCompSYNOPSIS: Doesn’t every child wish to go to Fairyland? Not Steven Topcliff – he doesn’t fit in there at all. The inhabitants tease and threaten him, technology is banned by Law, and the Land itself is a living being that deals out instant magical punishments to lawbreakers. This is very bad news indeed for a boy who is addicted to video games!
When the ruthless Fairy Queen summons Steven to her Presence, he learns that she’s the living power behind the Land and its creatures – and she wants to keep him there for her own purposes. His only chance of getting home is to forge his own Gateway – by Magic.
First he has to believe it’s possible for a human boy to do Magic. And that’s the hardest part of all…

REVIEW: I absolutely loved this story and have no doubt in my mind that young boys and girls will love it just as much if not even more.

The story is about how a young boy, Steven who loves nothing more than playing computer video games gets tricked into going to fairyland by a goblin disguised as his cousin, Tracy. He becomes permanently trapped in fairyland by eating some cake. There is only one way he can get back home again… Magic. No-one will help him, not even the fairy queen, and he cannot do magic himself… Can he?

Gateway to Magic is beautifully written and full of childhood humour which had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion and there are also some valuable lessons to learn. I love the originality even though at times I saw some similarities to Lewis Carroll’s style of writing as my mind wandered to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Very different, yet similar.

I’ll have no problem recommending this work and will most certainly read it again. I’m looking forward to reading more from Annabelle Franklin.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

My Review on Amazon & Goodreads

AMAZON

GOODREADS

6 comments

Comments are closed.