The Rendering

31121059SYNOPSIS: Flash fiction with a bonus short story thrown in to lighten an otherwise dark collection of tales.

REVIEW: I’m a big fan of Sue Coletta. Her crime thrillers are

and she puts a huge amount of research into her work… Forensics & Anatomy to name just a couple of the areas she explores. I find her main works to be something like a cross between the psychological thriller and CSI. I can’t wait for her next instalment of the Mayhem series.

That said, I was quite disappointed with this small collection of tales. As a writer of flash fiction and short stories I completely understand the problems with character development and depth so neither of these were an issue. My real issue is the stories simply came across as excerpts from her thrillers, and as they were so graphic and compact, they were hard to digest. They would however be fine as part of larger works where there is plenty of build up and some kind of solution.

I was given a free copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.

Review Links
9 comments

  1. I admire that your review is both honest and constructive even though there were some things about the book that were not to your taste. In the long run, honest reviews are better for everyone, including the writer.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have a copy of this but it’s still on my TBR. I’ve seen some short fic Sue posted on her blog that I really enjoyed. I thought this might be much in the same vein, but haven’t had a chance to digest it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would find them a bit full-on to be a taster… I like her in-depth analyses of the crime scenes much better. They would make great tasters. But, that’s me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.