44 Comments

Blog Tour: Author, Robert Kimbrell #RRBC

The following selections are from Rhythm of My Heart, a short collection of darker poetry written by Annie Scarlotte:

 

Just once I want to feel that I can give myself completely

without fear

and breathe someone else into my soul.

Just one time I want to see true passion

and let my eyes cry from the ecstasy of it.

I just need one moment to be me,

one point in my finite existence to feel accepted,

one place I can breathe and feel worthy of the air

and share myself with no clanging of chains.

***

Why can’t it be

that way for me?

They seem to share

so easily.

They give and take without regard

displaying beauty and harmony.

For me this is so hard.

To get so close,

I must shed the paranoia.

I must use the desire to feel

And not dream,

see and not envision…

My inability to arrive,

is it only an illusion?

***

 

My cup nears empty

and my soul grows cold.

Fonder my love cannot get

your absence sears my soul.

I sit in silence

waiting on your call

with constant trembling

and aches inside.

How can I convince you

what you see is real?

Only holding you will mend my spirit-

Only loving you gives me life.

 

 

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00043]Book Blurb:

Because Annie has no recollection of her birth parents, her life is full of unknowns. Still, she seems relatively content with her simple existence in Washington, DC. Marcus, her new Italian boyfriend, adds much desired spice to her life despite secrecy about his position at SecureVest. But when Annie becomes mysteriously ill, it is the catalyst for a life far from simple.

 

Seemingly by luck, Annie discovers that she is maturing into a dhampir (a vampire/human hybrid), and to survive she must feed on fresh human blood. With Marcus fully aware of Annie’s predicament, they concoct a scheme: find the evil living among us and act where justice does not.

 

Vigilante Annie is born.

 

Amazon Link:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A7BHIU6

 

 

 

author-picAuthor Bio:

An only child, (in the seventies, mind you), little Robert could be seen running in the backyard playing superhero, with a bed sheet serving as his cape. He also spent many hours drawing or writing in his mid-sized Ohio town. Having also battled depression earlier in life, Robert now sees how his low points have brought him to a more creative, stronger sense of being. Now he is where he wants to be, and is telling the stories he is meant to tell. His other interests include reading, motorcycle touring, fitness and classic movies.

 

Twitter:  @VAAuthor

Website:  www.VigilanteAnnie.com

 

 

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

44 comments on “Blog Tour: Author, Robert Kimbrell #RRBC

  1. Robert, this concept in yor book sounds fascinating! WISHING you lots of luck and a ton of sales.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great poem, Robert. It shows such depth of Annie’s character.

    Like

  3. Amazing poem, Robert. Thanks for hosting, Kev.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I so enjoyed your poem, Robert! Well done!! I’m looking forward to the remainder of your special week!! 🙂 Thanks so much for hosting, Kevin!!

    Like

  5. Robert, I love the poem! Kev, thanks for the host!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful, captivating poetry, Robert! Wow. Thanks for sharing this with us.
    Thank you, Kev, for the warm welcome, as always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent piece of writing, Robert.

    Thanks for hosting, Kevin. Great way to show support.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations, Robert!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So nice to get some more insight into the character of Annie. I love this sort of bonus material.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I can feel Annie’s desperation in those poetic words, so strong, and so full of passion! It seems to set the tone of her story. I hope you are having a wonderful time, Robert. 🙂 Thank you Kevin for hosting him.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. As a hybrid I think Annie’s got a unique perspective as a poet – and really a vampire is all about passion so it’s a good pedigree to have. ❤ her poems anyway 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lovely poems. I like the character as poet – a nice layer and interesting reveal. Good luck with the book, Robert. Thanks, Kev 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Touching poems. They show the depth of a person’s emotions. Well done.

    Like

  14. Your poem, Robert, just blew me away! Excellent work! I’m heading over to Amazon right now to get my copy! Who says blogs don’t sell books? Have a great tour! Thanks for hosting, Kevin!

    Like

  15. this is so great, impressive introduction with excellent vision…

    Like

Comments are closed.

John Brackenridge

Writer, comedian, druid.

arctic books

literary & lifestyle blog

kendrawaters

A Writer's World

tuhinpower

Bubbly Talks

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Author Sharmishtha Basu's Little World

I dreamt for stars, gathered stardust in my soul, sprinkling some to earth now, waiting for them to grow up in dream wood.

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS OF EVERYDAY LIFE

Humorous Observations of Animals, People, Places, Things, and Popular Culture

Didi Oviatt

Author of suspense novels Search For Maylee (coming soon), Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians. As well as the short story collection Time Wasters and (co-author of) The Suspenseful Collection. Columnist for The Conscious Talk Magazine.

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

bookriot

Let's review

The Alley of Museums

there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you - Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

