Hills & Valleys

Book Review

30318953

Hills and Valleys

Book 3 of The Ambeth Chronicles

I love this third book in the series; it provides some much-needed reckoning of events and the emotional trauma we were left with at the end of No Quarter in addition to providing knowledge to Alma’s family background and involvement with Ambeth.

With the dark reaching out to entrap Alma, the struggles the light face trying to protect her, and the call of Ambeth itself through mysterious magic, Alma can no longer run away or hide from her fate.

Despite not having any real action, Hills and Valleys is intense and without doubt the best in the series so far. I love the way, Jones skilfully weaves in the background knowledge through the use of flashbacks. I also love the way she can change our feelings towards certain dark characters bringing a sense of hope to a most dire situation.

I’m looking forward to the next in the series.

Show your support on Amazon & Goodreads!

Amazon UK

Goodreads

Amazon US

All my reviews are sincere, honest reviews of books Iโ€™ve actually read. I don’t review books I cannot finish.

Please feel free to share, and thank you for reading.

13 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Journey To Ambeth and commented:
    I know I’ve done a few reblogs lately – it’s because I’ve been out visiting in blogland this week – but I just had to share this lovely review for Hills and Valleys, the third book in my Ambeth series. Thanks, Kev!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for a great review, Kev – I’m so pleased you enjoyed this instalment ๐Ÿ™‚ I also really like what you said about Ellery and Deryck – that’s just what I was going for. Book four is almost written – I’m just sorting structure, as quite a few storylines come together at this point (not that I’m giving anything away!). Thanks again for reading xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you’re happy with it Helen. I hesitate to write too much in a review sometimes in case I give something away… spoilers. But after thinking about it, I guess I could have used the Ellery and Deryck comment in the review. I’ll keep that in mind for your next one. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do appreciate that very much – I’ve never understood reviews that recap the entire plot of the book, as I think it spoils it for other readers. And I thought your review was great – I just saw you mention Deryck and Ellery in the comments and liked what you said there too. They do change a bit, although Deryck is a little more stuck in his ways due to being a full blood. I’ve enjoyed exploring their characters, that’s for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I hated Ellery at first, now I really like her. Deryck, I completely distrusted and grew to hate, now, I feel for him. I love that kind of character depth. Well done, Helen! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.