Glimpses

Book Review

glimpses-kdp-cover

Glimpses

I have to say as a great fan of Tales of the Unexpected growing up, I can most certainly feel the influence this show and others such as The Twilight Zone have had on Hugh W. Robert’s writing and I mean that in the most positive sense. Having said that, his stories are unique, cleverly devised and an absolute must read for fans of Strange Tales and the like.

Some of the tales had me chuckling deviously bringing out a bit of the inner darkness. One in particular though, Needles had me cringing. I had to rush through it and don’t think I could bring myself to read it again. Among my favourites are, Silent Night, Lipstick, (evil grin for the ladies) and I Believe In Father Christmas. (Even bigger evil grin for potential kiddies) There are others that stand out for me as well, but there’s no point in listing just about every story in the book.

Well-written, well-constructed, cleverly devised… Ticks all the boxes!

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

29 thoughts on “Glimpses

  1. Kev, thanks so much for this super review of my first book. I’m delighted you enjoyed reading it. I can understand having to rush through, Needles. That was a story I wrote for a competition where I had to include ‘Gore’. I even got some humorous hate mail from some cats after it was published. I won’t be writing any further gory stories. 😀 They don’t suit my writing style. I prefer those evil twists.
    Thanks again.
    My best wishes to Pat and you.
    Hugh

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.