29 Comments

Book Talk: Caboodle & The Whole Kit

Hey, how’s it going?

Can I get you a coffee or anything?

Cappuccino? Got it; be right back!

…There you go.

I love this place, The Coffee Plantation here in Phoenix is far nicer than the coffee shop I used to frequent back in Bowling Green. You don’t have to worry about the weather so much as it’s almost always hot and you can sit out in the fresh air (when there’s a table available) shaded from the sun under the parasols. They sometimes let a local band play live in the afternoons… it’s really pleasant.

Guess What?

I finally got my book published. You know, the one I’ve been banging on about forever!

Yeah that’s right, the one with all my scraps… finished poems and songs I’ve never done anything with and a few short stories. I’ve called it Caboodle & The Whole Kit although I did struggle coming up with a title to begin with. Here it is:

day-2-kevin-cooper-and-caboodle

I know right? A few folks have remarked about the cover. It was actually created from a photo that I took while on holiday in Llandudno last year. I can’t believe how well it came out.

I introduced most of the short stories under a section called, Interludes because they are actually interviews with various characters from well know writings, plays and movies such as Heathcliff from Emily Bronte’s, Wuthering Heights, and the phantom from The Phantom of the Opera. Those two are my best ones; I think anyone who has read Wuthering Heights or been to see The Phantom of the Opera will appreciate the jest within these two fictional interviews. The same similarity will work with the others… I even did one with Darth Vader! Lol.

Would you like a muffin to go with that cappuccino or a slice of cheesecake? The cheesecake here is out of this world! You simply must try it… I insist!

Too big? Yeah, they are a bit. Tell you what then; I’ll get one and we can share. Raspberry?

…Mm. Delicious isn’t it?

…Anyway, I also have three other sections where I’ve grouped poetry and lyrics together: Family & Faith; For Laughs; and Caboodle. Under Family & Faith, I included the poem I wrote reflecting upon an experience I had while my son was in a coma after his tragic accident the other year. It was a hit and run that left him for dead. He actually did die for several minutes, but the paramedics brought him back. Here it is:

Angel

I notice first your hair

Beautiful

Long

Wavy

Red

It fell over your shoulders

As you stood

Above

The bed

Your face

It seemed familiar

Beautiful

And

Bright

I could see

My son

Through you

When you came to me

That night

Although you spoke

No words

To me

You stayed there

Quite a while

Your message

Touched

Me

Deeply

All was said

Within

Your Smile

I can’t remember

How you were garbed

You were

Adorned

In

Grace

One thing

Imprinted

Upon my mind

The beauty of

Your Face

You came to tell me

All would be well

That you were with

My son

As he lay there

In a coma

God’s

Good will

To be done

The doctors

Could not offer

Hope

We are doing

All we can do

They could not

Promise

Anything

My mind

Returned

To

You

Why is it you would come to me?

I try not to

Believe

At all

It must be

Because

I

Lack

The faith

You strengthen

My

Weakened

Soul

For you have been there

Many times

Always taking

The lead

Sweeping away

Wanton desires

Caring for

My need

Your appearance is not

Always the same

Nor are the things

You do

They say

You work

In mysterious ways

Now that

I know

Is true

I know that you have

Carried me

When I’ve been

Insecure

As one way closes

In my face

You

Open

Another door

I do not know

What to believe

My heart

Cannot

Be True

I only know

If I believed

In God

He would have to be

Like you

Angel was inspired by a vivid dream I’d had after several visits to the ICU, each one with the hope that my son would awake.

On a lighter note, I’ve also added some love poetry and lyrics, and my section, For laughs is full of jovial limericks and poetry. Caboodle is a bit of a mixture. My whole idea for putting these together (besides simply finding something to do with several manuscripts that didn’t seem to fit with anything else.) was to reach out and touch on things that sparks different emotions: love, commitment, sadness, hope, joy and laughter. I’m sure that folks who read Caboodle & The Whole Kit tune into this.

You really think so?

Thanks that really encouraging. Ooh, is that the time already! I’m so glad we were able to get together for this catch-up! Take care and I’ll see you again real soon!

Caboodle & The Whole Kit is available at this universal link: AMAZON.

***

Thank you for reading this first episode of Book Talk. If you would like to present your book or even someone else’s in a unique way, get in touch through the Book Talk page. 

 

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

29 comments on “Book Talk: Caboodle & The Whole Kit

  1. I’m loving your book, Kevin. It is a refreshingly different kind of book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the way you presented this, Kev. It sucked me right in and made me feel like we were sitting down and chatting. And the poem is utterly beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Enticing!
    Will you be a guest at my site for an interview?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations, another gem from Kev – your poem cuts right into the soul. Truly wonderful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like this innovation Kev…the talk could hold me till the end and that’s the first quality of any presentation! A poignant poem with so many emotions! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh a new series! this is a terrific start, Kev. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not quite, Teagan. It’s a new feature for authors to talk about their books. This is an example of what they can do to present their work in a new way. Check out my Book Talk page for more. I would be delighted to have you participate! Mega hugs back! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is so entertaining, Kev. It gives a great example of how your Book Talk works. The poem made me all weepy – just beautiful and so full of heart and grace. Phew. ❤ I have your book, I just need to get reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking all week, I should do my own Book Talk just to give folks a taste of what Book Talk is about and what they can do with it. I have no doubt creative authors such as yourself can come up with something far better… hope so! I’ve linked this to the Book Talk page so folks can have a quick look to get an idea of what they can do. Happy the poem touched you. You’ll find a mix of emotions when you read it, but mostly bubbly ones, I think. Enjoy and thanks so very much for your encouraging words, Diana. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Speaking of new features, that reminds me …

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The dudes are very proud. I mean, they may be raging that they never got on Debby’s blog but they are proudc

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

John Brackenridge

Writer, comedian, druid.

arctic books

literary & lifestyle blog

kendrawaters

A Writer's World

tuhinpower

Bubbly Talks

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Author Sharmishtha Basu's Little World

I dreamt for stars, gathered stardust in my soul, sprinkling some to earth now, waiting for them to grow up in dream wood.

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS OF EVERYDAY LIFE

Humorous Observations of Animals, People, Places, Things, and Popular Culture

Didi Oviatt

Author of suspense novels Search For Maylee (coming soon), Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians. As well as the short story collection Time Wasters and (co-author of) The Suspenseful Collection. Columnist for The Conscious Talk Magazine.

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

bookriot

Let's review

The Alley of Museums

there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you - Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

