73 Comments

Three Book Talk Things

Three Things Serial Story — Book Talk

3-things-cover_3-2016

Hi, I’m Teagan Ríordáin Geneviene.  Kev is ever so kind. He asked me to take part in his Book Talk at KC Books & Music.  How could I possibly resist?  

My debut novel is Atonement, Tennessee.  It’s an urban fantasy with a dash of mystery.  However, over the holidays I “book-ized” one of the serial stories from my blog, The Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story.  You can learn all about it here.  Anyway, that’s the story I want to bring to Book Talk.

Characters from my stories will get into my head at the oddest moments, usually when I’m doing some chore.  It might go something like this… 

young-lucille-ball-pensive-peach

Young Lucille Ball as Pip

Hey Sheba!  What-cha doin? 

Akkk!  OMG, Pip.  You scared me half to death!  I nearly knocked my laptop off the desk.  Couldn’t you give me some warning before you pop into my head?

Oh applesauce… What am I supposed to do, ring a doorbell?  Oooo you’re online shopping again, huh?  Are you seriously getting a hat with cat ears?  That’s not what I’d expect.  It’s the  cat’s pajamas though.  Tee-hee, get it?  Will you write one for me in my next story? I’m tired of my pink cloche.

Burned toast.  That’s what the scent was.  I sniffed the air and stood up behind my desk as the odor was suddenly much stronger.  My pink cloche hat fell to the floor.

“Oh, applesauce!” I muttered as I quickly scooped it up and brushed off the nonexistent dirt.  The hat was brand new.

Paisley Idelle Peabody, why are you in my head?

You sound like Granny Phanny.  What did I do to make you use my full name?  Come on, I know you’re a flapper at heart.  I’m just having fun.  Wait, where’d the cat hat go?  Your computer is on a different site.  Ah… KC Books & Music.  Looks like the bee’s knees!

Young Lucy pensive

Young Lucille Ball

It is “the bee’s knees” and so is Kev, who runs the website.  I’m supposed to be there talking about your novella, The Three Things Serial Story.

Did you tell them about it being spontaneously written?  Every element of the story came from “things” your blog readers sent.  I gotta tell you, that kind of uncertainty was pretty darned scary for me!

You came through it okay though, Pip.  Don’t grumble, and for heaven’t sake don’t give the nice people here any spoilers. They might want to read your adventures.  Maybe you didn’t get everything you wanted, but you growing up some is part of the story.

It still gives me the heebie jeebies to know that even the 1920s setting and me being a flapper came from those “things.”  Your mind must work in strange ways if you got all that from oscillating fan!

Well Pip, I can’t argue with you there.

1920s Fan

Tic, tic, tic, grunt.  Tic, tic, tic, grunt.  The noise chipped away at my preoccupied mind while I absently gazed at the quiet street below.  It was Sunday, so hardly anyone was out.  A little boy in a cowboy costume came around the corner.  He pushed himself against the brick wall of the building across the street and peeped back around its edge at his unseen playmate.  Then he jumped out with arms spread like a bear to startle his friend, and quickly disappeared from sight.

Tic, tic, tic, grunt.  Tic, tic, tic, grunt.  The sound drew my attention away from the window.  Some would find the low repetitive noise hypnotic, perhaps even relaxing.  To me however, the sound was becoming downright annoying.  A dust bunny skittered out from a corner, propelled by the breeze of the oscillating fan.  The stirring air brought a familiar scent to my nostrils and I looked toward the door.

Do you really imagine the voice of a grown up Lucille Ball as the narrator when I tell my stories? 

Yes Pip, from the very beginning.  But only the narrator parts.  For instance right now, or when you’re in dialogue in a story, I imagine the voice of a young woman.

One who sounds like a young Lucille ball?  Did that come from a “thing” too?

No.  It was just there.  What’s that look on your face about? I don’t have an answer for everything.

Aren’t you going to share more of my adventures with these Sheiks and Shebas?  Tell them when.

As you would say, Pip — I pos-i-lutely am.  “Murder at the Bijou, a Three Things Serial Story” will be published this spring.

Is that where I—

Pip, spoilers!  I think we’ve probably talked enough.  We wouldn’t want to tell too much.

Bye folks.  Don’t take any wooden nickles!  It’s time for this flapper (and the writer too) to scram!

Thank you again, Kev for hosting me at Book Talks.  Thanks for visiting, everyone.  Drop by my blog, Teagan’s Books, and say hello.  Mega hugs!

teagan-3x3d-books-12-2016

Image by Chris Graham, The Story Reading Ape

Copyright © 2017 by Teagan Ríordáin Geneviene

All rights reserved.

No part of this work may be reproduced, scanned, or distributed in any printed or electronic form without permission.  Please do not participate in or encourage piracy of copyrighted materials in violation of the author’s rights.

About Teagan Geneviene

I started the blog, Teagan's Books, as part of what I call my “grand experiment” in indie publishing. However, it has come to be quite dear to me. I hope you'll stop by, read something, enjoy it, and leave a note saying hello. http://teagansbooks.wordpress.com/about/

73 comments on “Three Book Talk Things

  1. Lucille Ball as the narrator! So much fun 🙂 Great seeing Teagan here and being able to visit with Kev too ~ bonus! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How much fun is this! YES, I love it when our characters talk to us and lead us to fun adventures (or get us in trouble) and yet we just can’t resist. Your writing is so fun, Teagan!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love to read about the background and characters in Teagan´s book. I have been following her blog for a while and her writing simply stands out! 😀 Thank you for sharing Kev… Love & best wishes. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just love reading your material. Your language and imagery just take me right into your story!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Fabulous post Teagan! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good luck with the new book, Teagan! What an interesting way to write a book… must have been nerve wracking at times! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Ali. Not really — it was huge fun. However, I was determined to just let the story go with the “things.” I realized I was probably giving up a little bit of “technical literary quality” by doing so, but everyone seemed to enjoy the stories regardless. Thanks for taking time to visit. Mega hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you, Kevin, for hosting Teagan!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. This was charming and funny! An enjoyable read 🙂 I would love to peer into your mind, and see what kind of people live there. They sound wonderful.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. This is a great way to share book talk. I am honored to be here and read.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. You constantly amaze Teagan, and are a whirlwind of creativity!!! You brighten my day!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. A fascinating way to talk about your Three Things Serial Story. Love it! That Pip has lots of pizzazzzzzzzz. 😀 😀 ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Love this idea, great article. thank you

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Book Talk ~ what a grand idea! You’ve got my mind going in circles, wondering what the characters in my own books would say. Thoroughly enjoyed this, Kev and Teagan 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 3 people

  14. This was very fun. What a good time.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Love love love this, Kev, you and Teagan sure know how to put a big smile on our faces. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  16. It’s wonderful to see you here and to know that your fantastic writing is being picked up by so many others….I always feel uplifted having read your blog. May the magical hummers be with you today…janet. :)xx

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:

    Teagan Geneviene is gracing the pages of Kevin Cooper’s blog this week with her Three Things characters from Atonement, Tennessee.. entertaining as always… head over and enjoy…

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Delightful, Teagan. I love Pip’s energy and sassy attitude. Wonderful to see you and Pip on Kev’s book talk. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Thanks Kev for bringing my favorite lady over to play. I’ll be waiting for the start of the 3 Things again.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  20. I love Pip’s vocabulary, and all those old expressions. “Oh, applesauce” is a particular favorite.
    Highly entertaining, Teagan!

    Liked by 3 people

  21. Teagan, I think I’d like to spend a day in your head – looks like I’d have some great company!

    Liked by 3 people

  22. Teagan you are multi-talented or is it that you have multi-personalities lol… said in the nicest possible way.. For your caricatures come to life off the page. Love Pip’s personality.. then again I love so many more of your creations too..
    Well done.. and loved reading.. ❤ xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sue, you are the kindest person. Thank you for these encouraging words, and for visiting here at Kev’s.
      LOL, I think you’ve “hit the nail on the head.” A former boss valued my writing skills (he actually still does). He once asked me in a wondering tone, “How do you quiet your mind to write the way you do?” I nearly snorted. “If you only knew the chaos that’s in my mind when I write. All the different things that come crashing together. My mind is not quiet at all when I write.” I still get a kick out of it. So you might not be far off! 😀 Huge hugs.

      Liked by 2 people

  23. Love how you bring Pip into things. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 3 people

  24. Thanks again to Kev for inviting me to Book Talk. It was a blast. Have a fabulous Friday everyone!

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Pip is short for Paisley Idelle Peabody… Lol… Love it! Just her name is enough to inspire a read! Great post, Teagan. Thanks so much for agreeing to do this. I hope you enjoyed doing it as much as I enjoyed reading it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  26. That’s such an interesting way to involve lots of people in the creation of your book. Great to hear from you and Pip!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi Claire. Thanks so much for visiting! It was huge fun, writing the serials at my blog. I was uncertain about how well they would translate into book form, but I finally took the plunge, and I’m glad I did. Huge hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

