48 Comments

BLOG TOUR… AUTHOR, RHANI D’CHAE #RRBC

A Cold Winter’s Day

I love creating new characters, and Winter of the Drill brought forth Jax Weston. Jax is the right hand man of villain Duncan Malone, and Malone relies on him to handle the various dirty deeds that are required to grow and maintain his adult entertainment empire. But Jax is beginning to question his loyalty to Malone, largely due to Malone’s attempts to gain ownership of the nightclub owned by Rudy Valdez.

In the following excerpt from my upcoming novel, Winter of the Drill, Jax has stopped into a downtown tavern to do a little alcohol fueled soul-searching. Tinker, the bartender, strikes up a conversation that hits a little too close to home.

I hope you like this peek at Winter of the Drill.

* * *

   Tinker grinned, showing yellowed teeth beneath his untrimmed moustache. “I haven’t seen you in here before. We usually get the guys from the docks, and a few wayward truckers looking for action on the strip. You don’t fit either category, so I guess you’re part of our third group.”

Jax looked up, curious in spite of himself. “What group is that?”

Tinker chuckled, his eyes reading Jax’s with the insight gained from thirty years of watching people come and go through assorted tavern doors.

“Trouble,” he said simply. “You’re trouble. But somehow…I think you’re mostly trouble for yourself. And no amount of booze is gonna change that.”

Jax stared back, his interest rapidly giving way to irritation. “You don’t know me.” His voice took on an unpleasant edge that Tinker did not seem to notice. “You don’t know anything about me. So what gives you the right to judge me?”

Tinker studied his face for a moment, then shook his head with jaded recognition. “I ain’t judgin’ you, boy. Hell, I was you, back in the day. I lived your life ’til I wised up and got out. So I don’t have to know you to know you.”

Jax picked up his glass and scowled at the liquid inside, disliking the man intensely. He had come for a few drinks, not a lecture, and he deeply resented the bartender’s intrusion into his personal space.

But the silence that followed Tinker’s last sentence soared quickly from uncomfortable to unpleasant, hovering there until Jax’s already frayed nerves could take it no more.

“Okay,” he snapped crossly. “You know me so well, tell me why I’m trouble.”

Tinker shrugged, his expression saying that he was only stating the obvious. “You’ve got a good build, and the scars on your hands tell me that you didn’t put in the gym time just to get girls. But your face is clean. Your nose has never been broken, and you’ve never had a cut deeper than a surface scratch. This tells me that you don’t fight anyone who’s in a position to fight back. So…you’re not a boxer, a cager, or any other kind of ring fighter. And you’re not a guy who fights just for fun ‘cuz if you were, you’d have the scars. That leaves hired muscle for one of the idiots that think they own the streets around here.”

He shrugged again, eyeing Jax appraisingly. “You’re dressed nice so whoever pays you has some green behind him. That leaves out Deaf Tony, Carl Dawes, Len Morgan, or the Mason twins. It also leaves out the popcorn pimps like Dark Daddy, King, and Ricky Roy. So…process of elimination tells me you answer to one of the big guns like Duncan Malone or Dane Kinney. Maybe even the Drill, though I’d be surprised if you did. He treats his people pretty damn good, but you look like you’re hatin’ life and everyone in it. It’s usually girl trouble what drives a man to drink, but I see somethin’ in you that goes way deeper than that.”

He paused to pull out a battered comb and make a quick pass through his thinning hair. “Boy, if you’re tied up with Kinney I’d say be careful and leave it at that. But if you’re one of Malone’s dogs then all I can say is watch your back and sleep with your eyes open. ‘Cuz life with Malone means you’ll always have to be choosin’ between what he tells you to do and what you’re willin’ to do. And no matter how you play it, sooner or later you’ll choose wrong, and then I’ll see your blood on the sidewalk right next to Milo VanDiepen’s.”

The mention of the notorious enforcer, who had died in a hail of bullets not far from the bar in which he sat, brought a frown to Jax’s face. A frown that did not go unnoticed by the man who had read him with such disturbing accuracy.

“You’re still young, boy,” Tinker continued. “Watch your step, and you might live to get old.”

Jax jiggled the glass, watching the alcohol swirl around the ice cubes, and wondered how many more he would have to drink to dull the misery that threatened to take him down to some emotional hell from which there was no escape.

I could drink a gallon and it wouldn’t make a bit of difference, he thought dismally as he swallowed the liquid and signaled for yet another refill. He’s right about Malone. I gotta get away before he changes me completely. Before he kills everything I am.

***

BOOK BLURB:

rhani-bc

(https://t.co/QzD2ODjvKk)

A brutal experience transforms an unproven young tough into a ruthless killing machine. For 15 years he waited, building his body into an unstoppable weapon so that vengeance would be had through the strength of his will and the power of his hands.

***

AUTHOR BIO:

rhani-ap

Rhani D’Chae is a visually impaired writer, reader, and lover of cats. She is currently working on the second book in the Drill series, about an unrepentant enforcer and the violent life that he leads.

Twitter – @rhanidchae

Facebook – https://goo.gl/UvY4YY

Website – rhanidchae.com

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

48 comments on “BLOG TOUR… AUTHOR, RHANI D’CHAE #RRBC

  1. Great show of support, Kev! Thanks for hosting our amazing Rhani!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoops, missed a site on your tour, Rhani. I hop you hd a good time!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Tisha, thanks for stopping by and checking out this stop on the tour. Happy Saint Paddy’s day. I hope you have a great weekend! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh hell! Rhani, you know I’m already spoken for, I mean Decker is the main man, but oh, brother, this Jax guy is gonna give him a run for his money. I may also develop a huge crush on the bartender, I do love a man with perception and insight. The taster for “Winter of The Drill” has left me hungry for more. Thanks so much for hosting this leg of Rhani’s tour, Kevin.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sooz, you crack me up! I have to admit that I do like Tinker. I may have to bring him back from time to time. As for Jax, I’m having so much fun working with him! His growing disillusion with Malone is providing some subtle humor in the book, and I can’t help but love that. Lol Thanks for stopping by. Your comment has gotten my day off to a fantastic start! 😄

      Liked by 2 people

      • lol … ‘Tinker’ should set up a Psychiatrists’ ‘couch’ behind the bar … oh wait, second thoughts, that couch could get a little crowded in a bar. I love the characters you have woven with your magic pen.

        Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure Soooz!

      Like

  5. Exquisite excerpt. Love it! Jax is fascinating, and I am quite drawn to Tinker’s astute assessment and generosity in giving it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It had to be interesting to write Jax. Have a marvelous Monday.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Teagan, thanks for dropping in & checking out the post. I’m having a lot of fun with Jax, & he’s bringing a bit of disgruntled humor to the story. I hope you’re having a great Monday, too. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It was a pleasure to be part of your tour, Rhani. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ohh I cant wait for the next Drill book – I loved the first one 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so glad that you enjoyed Shadow, and are looking forward to the next book. Personally, I want it done just so I can stop looking at it every time I sit at my computer. Lol I’m glad you stopped by, thank you. 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes, Rhani, “Winter Of The Drill” is moving just as fast as the first one. I’m sure it will be a feast to read! :D. Thank you Kevin for hosting her.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Kevin, thanks so much for hosting me today. You have a great blog, and I’m glad my tour got to stop here.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for a peek at this excerpt – a thoroughly engrossing read and disappointed when it ended! Best of luck with your latest book, Rhani and many thanks for Kev for hosting.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Oh, Rhani, now I’m already in love with this new book!! Thank you for the sneak peek! Thank you for hosting, Kevin!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Thoroughly enjoying your SA tour, Rhani! Congrats, again! Kevin, thanks so much for hosting Rhani on your awesome site! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Tough sounding and intriguing excerpt. Nice writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Its very nice of you to promote these books. Kev the blog is booming and we are finally in the talks of getting one of our stories published. We need you buddy more than ever. Weve got a rough draft our for eaten an Eskimo and we need your thoughts desperately. As you know we take care of our followers, so I coule really use your advice on this one

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Nice excerpt and I love the names. Good luck with the release. The book sounds exciting 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Another fabulous day on your tour, Rhani! I know I’ll love this series. I have Shadow of the Drill on my Kindle, and it’s moving up my TBR list!
    Thanks for the warm welcome, Kevin!

    Liked by 2 people

  18. A good excerpt, Rhani. I so need to catch up with your series. Congrats on the upcoming release and a many thanks to Kev for hosting during your tour. He’s a fab guy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

