62 Comments

Book Talk Gets Magical with Teagan and Kev

Hi everyone. I’m Teagan Ríordáin Geneviene.  Today I’m here with another Book Talk with Kev at KC Books and Music.  I’ve done some joint posts with other bloggers (click here), such as vignettes featuring my characters combine with recipes from Suzanne at A Pug in the Kitchen.  So when Kev and I discussed me doing some “Book Talks” I got the idea to do something similar — but with his music!

I know that lately I’ve focused on my 1920s stories  The Three Things Serial  and (coming up this spring) I’m getting ready for the take-off of the second one, Murder at the Bijou, Three Ingredients-I.  However, my Atonement, Tennessee “universe” seemed the best fit for Kev’s music.  He suggested his compelling and lovely song, Magical

Kev, would you say a few words about your song here?

I would love to Teagan, thank you. Magical is a love song/ballad where the artist expresses how his world has changed as if by magic since his lover came into his life. It is a song about the essence of falling in love. The original song was written many years ago. Last year, I thought I should do something with my song, Magical since I’ve finally started to have some of the songs I’ve written over the years recorded and released. I changed some of the lyrics to bring them up-to-date, but the music remains the same. It’s a mellow arpeggio played upon a classical guitar to keep the ‘magical’ feeling or mood, if you will.

No wonder I liked the song!

Kev and I both agreed it would be fun if I used something from the point of view of Lilith the calico cat.  Kev’s Magical is how I imagine Gwydion’s magic working on Ralda Lawton if everything had been well… right.  However, in quirky Atonement, Tennessee magic is rarely gentle.  So (as with most things in my fictional town) the magic Lilith witnesses Gwydion perform does not go as planned.  My the snippet does not happen in the lovely way of Kev’s song, but it’s definitely magical.  From my work in progress, Atonement in Bloom, take a look at some of the magic Lilith saw.  The scene is followed by a trailer I made for the book-to-be.  

***

feline-calico_xs_3280429

Lilith watched in fascination.  She could feel the magic in the air, even though the men didn’t appear to be doing much of anything.  She could particularly feel Gwydion’s power.  It made her skin tingle and the fur at the back of her head ruffled.

Gwydion used a stick to scratch at the ground at the foot of a giant old oak tree.  He dropped seeds there and deftly covered them.

Fine powder glittered in the moonlight and settled on the fresh dirt where the seeds were buried.  Gwydion stepped aside allowing the moonlight to touch the seeded ground.  Sprouts appeared immediately.  Before Lilith’s watching gaze they quickly grew into mature plants — small but ethereal blossoms of white and pink meadow sweet along with branches of the broom shrub, heavily laden with yellow flowers.

The unnaturally strong scent of the blossoms was powered by Gwydion’s fae magic.  The flowers ran vine-like and entwined with the ancient oak as it started to surge and pulse.purple-shooting-star

The huge and ancient oak had a split in its center that looked like a gaping maw.  The tree shuddered and groaned.  Two limbs, each thick as an adult human’s thigh, writhed and twisted.  As the limbs twined together and merged, they took on an undeniable resemblance to the form of a woman.  The branches became crossed legs, an arched back, and arms outstretched.  The head was held back and the placement of the oak’s bark created an agonized expression on the face.

Lilith crouched down fearfully, but was mesmerized by the horrible scene.  She was unable to turn away.

***

So there you have it… Kev’s Magical, as it might go as a musical component to my story.

Kev, thanks very much for letting me visit again for this Book Talk.  Even if I could resist a pun, I’d still have to say it was magical.  Mega hugs everyone!

Copyright © 2017

All rights reserved.

No part of this work may be reproduced, scanned, or distributed in any printed or electronic form without permission.  Please do not participate in or encourage piracy of copyrighted materials in violation of the author’s rights.

All images are either the property of the author or from Pinterest unless stated otherwise.

About Teagan Geneviene

I started the blog, Teagan's Books, as part of what I call my “grand experiment” in indie publishing. However, it has come to be quite dear to me. I hope you'll stop by, read something, enjoy it, and leave a note saying hello. http://teagansbooks.wordpress.com/about/

62 comments on “Book Talk Gets Magical with Teagan and Kev

  1. Kev….came here from Teagan’s Blog….can’t say enough about her writing…wanted to let you know your song is absolutely beautiful!! Love the lyrics…great collaboration!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful duo Teagan and Kev! So entertaining. And I love that magical song! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great music, Kev, and thank you for promoting my favorite authors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Magical it is! Thanks for sharing Teagan and Kev! Blessings & hugs to you both! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very nice Teagan and Kev!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A wonderful joint collaboration of a post! Kev, I love your song, gentle melody and touching lyrics – it’s stayed with me since I’ve listened to it. The magic continues with your book Teagan and I thoroughly enjoyed the dramatic and intriguing excerpt. Good luck with your latest book!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love that description of the magic happening, Teagan! And setting your book to Kev’s music… what a great idea! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a lovely post. I loved the gentle, magical music. I was not expecting anything like that, and it spun a little cocoon around me while I read. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A beautiful collaboration with Teagan, Kevin!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So beautiful, Teagan and Kev. As I read about the magic of Lilith and listened to the sweet music in both videos, my mind was awash with enchanting images. Thank you for this magically restorative tonic 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  11. A lovely combined post. Enjoyed the music and the extract.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a magical way to start the day, well, I started here, but got waylaid, long story, but happy to be here (and to hear) the magic of this post – the combinations are fantastical!!! Must waltz off but must share first so others can find their way here! 🙂
    Mega musical magical hugs xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thanks for another fabulous Book Talk, Teagan. I really enjoyed collaborating with you on this one and look forward to doing it again. Anytime you’re up for doing one either on your own, with myself, or even with someone else, you know where to find me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m delighted to hear that Kev. I realize I postponed releasing this one, but that was just life and circumstance throwing challenges in my path. It was great fun working with you, and no stress at all (unlike my “real” job).
      As I approach the release of my next 1920s novella, I’m trying to put the focus on those stories. So if you have anything that puts you in mind of that era, feel free to let me know. 😀 Mega hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s the beauty of Book Talk, Teagan… There’s no pressure and you have complete control of when your article is released. I’ll definitely keep your 20’s series in mind. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Beautiful words and music, Kev. Cheers to an excellent excerpt to go with ithe music, Teagan.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:

    A ‘Two for the price of one’ post – How could I NOT reblog it 👍😃

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Two nice pieces of music there, both Kev’s and the one on the trailer. Plus, I really enjoyed the excerpt. So easy to visualise the scene.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:

    Love the story and the music, Lilith always in the purrfect spot to witness whatever is going on. Beautifully done Kev and Teagan.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Fun Book Talk, Teagan. And great song choice to go along, Kev. I always enjoy Teagan’s magical animals and the pov of Lilith was purrfect. 🙂 I really loved the trailer.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

