16 Comments

Book Talk – Of Coffee and Islands

Portrait_MMair_ByMaiu

I walk smiling out of the sunlight into my favorite little cafe, let my eyes (or rather my glasses) adjust to the change in light and look around. There she is, a touch of red in her black hair today, coffee already in front of her, head bent over a book. I grab a coffee myself before I walk over. She looks up when my shadow falls across her book. Then she smiles, puts it aside and says:

“Hello, hello! There you are, Margaret. Sit down.” She waves at the chair across from her, moves her coffee out of my way. “It’s been so long, too long, since we got together – good to see you! How’ve you been?”

I put my cup down quickly – it’s burning my fingers. “Good. And busy! Drawing, painting, writing, boat stuff, book stuff, grandparenting, life… You?”

“Busy too. There’s never enough time, is there?” She looks expectantly at the bag I’ve put on the small table. “Now – what is this book whereof you have been speaking? You’ve been building my expectations…”

I pull my slim volume out, hand it to her. My hand is only shaking a little bit. “Here.” Pause. Deep breath. Quick prayer. “So. What do you think? Islands, ten paintings, ten poems I wrote based on them, paintings and poems printed side by side.” I’m babbling. I shut up and wait.

Margaret Mair paintings

She opens it, pages through. “It looks beautiful. Such deep colours.” She stops to look and read before she looks up again. “Okay, I’ll bite. Why islands? And why ten?”

She’s always direct. That’s why I trust her. “Something to do with cruising around islands for two years. Small ones in the Bahamas, beautiful Bermuda, volcanic islands in the Azores, the Canaries, the Caribbean. Such remarkable landscapes, cliffs with so many different colours, places where islands seemed to rise straight out of the sea… So much raw beauty to work with. Of course, I injected a touch of imagination here and there.”

She laughs. “Just a touch?”

I smile back. “Maybe more? And ten because it’s a nice, round number to put into a small book. Besides, I already had ten island-themed paintings.”

“Hmm.” She nods. “Because the paintings were from that show you had?”

My turn to nod. “Ah, you remember. Yes, and because Edward Gajdel made me such high quality images of the paintings. He did a remarkable job of capturing the colours and textures, don’t you think?”

She looks again, pauses at a couple of pages. “Yes, he did.” She reads, looks up again. “And these poems? Where did they come from?”

She Rises_MMair_OriginalArt

Friends say I’m like an onion. I decide to peel away another layer. “Did I ever tell you I used to write poems when I was a teenager? You know the kind, full of storm and drama. Then when I was about sixteen I decided I didn’t have much to write about. So I stopped. Seemed reasonable. After that, except for the occasional odd – sometimes very odd – explosion of verse, I didn’t write any for years. But a few years ago a friend in a writing group challenged the rest of us to try writing different kinds of verse. How could I resist? I tried.”

“You did, eh? Somehow I don’t think these are the poems you wrote then.”

I smile. “Nope. I wrote some pretty terrible verses, several bad haiku, threw bunches of words together and counted syllables. But the bug was back; next thing I knew I was actually working at it. You know – rewriting, reconsidering, changing things about. I even started reading poems out loud to hear how they sounded, how words and lines fit together. Or didn’t.”

She rests her chin on her hands, considers. “Crazy! But that does sound like you. Never quite satisfied…”

MMair_SleepingGiants2_OriginalArt

Is that me? In which world? “Maybe… You remember those not-very-good haiku I wrote to go with the paintings in the show? Seemed like a good idea at the time. Then I put them on my blog. Another ‘good idea at the time’. But then I wrote better poems, so I decided to go back and “update” what I had written.” A pause, a sip of lukewarm coffee. Should I confess how much I came to dislike my own words? “Luckily not many people noticed. If anyone. I love being able to update! Don’t you?”

She laughs. “Would be nice if we could just ‘update’ other things in our lives.” She holds her cup in both hands, looks at me consideringly. “Okay, so that’s paintings, prints and poetry. And islands. Now – why a book?”

Should I tell her how often I thought about making this book, how many times I started and stopped? No… “A book felt like a good way to share my work – it’s smaller, less expensive, totally portable and more shareable than paintings or prints, and my poetry can be part of it. I mean, I love those very expensive coffee table art books, but I wanted something smaller, closer to a chapbook. That’s how I came up with ‘For We Are Islands’.”

I point to the book in front of her. “See? A book you can hold, turn the pages, read through, linger here or there. Think you would like one?” I hold my breath; she’d better answer soon or I might faint.

She lets me wait before she smiles, answers. “I do. You’re saying can I actually buy one?”

Sweet relief. I breathe again. “Yup. Online. I’ll send you a link, and before you know it you’ll have your very own copy. So how about we celebrate with a sweet treat? I’ll buy.”

She likes it! She really likes it! (and here it is)



For We Are Islands

By Margaret Mair

“Thank you. One of those delicious-looking date squares would be nice. And another coffee? Now finish yours before it gets cold.”

I sip. “Oops, too late!”

We laugh. At least our laughter is always warm.

*******

Thank you, Kev, for allowing me to share this little excursion. I really appreciate the opportunity! Maybe you’d like to come along next time?

About Margaret Mair

In love with the sensuousness of paint, intoxicated by the rhythm of words, entranced by the world of water, ever an observer and explorer.

16 comments on “Book Talk – Of Coffee and Islands

  1. This sounds like a lovely book and one I will surely enjoy. Thanks. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like a lovely book. Nice to meet Margaret. Hugs all around.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the introduction to Margaret Mair, Kevin!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the title and the art is exquisite. I especially love the last one. So very unique!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful artwork, and a lovely introduction to Margaret’s book. I would have liked to be there sharing a cup of coffee too. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Very nicely done, Margaret. I was completely drawn in and I love the artwork. I’d be honoured to join you next time… Thanks for asking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

John Brackenridge

Writer, comedian, druid.

arctic books

literary & lifestyle blog

kendrawaters

A Writer's World

tuhinpower

Bubbly Talks

writingthedreamblog

The Fantastic and Mundane Chronicles of an Aspiring Writer

Author Sharmishtha Basu's Little World

I dreamt for stars, gathered stardust in my soul, sprinkling some to earth now, waiting for them to grow up in dream wood.

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS OF EVERYDAY LIFE

Humorous Observations of Animals, People, Places, Things, and Popular Culture

Didi Oviatt

Author of suspense novels Search For Maylee (coming soon), Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians. As well as the short story collection Time Wasters and (co-author of) The Suspenseful Collection. Columnist for The Conscious Talk Magazine.

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

bookriot

Let's review

The Alley of Museums

there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you - Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

