A Thousand Rooms #DBA

Book Review

A Thousand Rooms

You don’t wake up expecting to die.

Katie is thirty-two, single, and works in advertising. She’s also dead. A lost soul hitching rides with the dying, trying to find her way to… wherever she’s supposed to be.

And whoever she’s supposed to be with.

Heaven, it seems, has a thousand rooms. What will it take to find hers?

Review: Wow! I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I picked up this work. Shamefully, I hadn’t even bothered to read the synopsis first which is so out of character for me. Why? I couldn’t tell you. What I can tell you however, is A Thousand Rooms far exceeded any first impressions I may or may not have had regardless of my aforementioned neglect.

This is one of those rare books I simply couldn’t put down. I was immediately captivated from the first sentence, and became so completely engrossed that nothing else in the world mattered for a good few hours.

This story would make a great movie that for me would be something like a cross between Ghost, and What Dreams May Come… and some.

Jones’ creativity, originality, writing style, and storytelling skills are first-rate. This book ticks all the boxes for a five-star work.

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

30 comments

  1. What a great review. I’m actually really intrigued by the premise of this book and have been eager to pick it up. It’s just that my reading pile is toppling over. Oh well, what the heck. Heading over to Amazon. :-). I’m writing an “after death” fantasy now, so I can’t read it until I’m done. But I’ll get there. Thanks for the great recommendation, Kev. Congrats to Helen.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great review, Kev and it’s always a welcome surprise when you had no idea what to expect and are caught up in the book! This sounds like something I’d enjoy for a relaxing read. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.