62 Comments

Across the pond

Hello dear readers of Kev’s blog, and The Editor’s Column, after an untimely absence on my part.

In a nutshell, this has been due to receiving a letter from our Spanish electricity company that only took three weeks to arrive, and threatened to cut us off. This was because we hadn’t been at home when they turned up, without warning, to change the meter. Sadly, neither of us is psychic so guessing when Endesa may pay a visit is not on our list of top skills. So, this month we have been exiled in Spain hoping they may pull their idle fingers out. No result as yet. More on my own blog this weekend.

But onto today’s topic. Following on from my previous post, I want to pick up on more of the linguistic differences between English across the pond.

The pond – the North Atlantic Ocean

One of the frequent complaints I come across is from British authors who have been criticised by American reviewers for their spelling or their strange use of words. But I don’t hear the reverse. Is this because Brits know Americanese is different but Americans expect all the world to be written in one form of English?

For me, the diversity of the English language is enriching. I don’t want to see everything morph into one blur.

A thong in Australia is not the same as elsewhere.

Then, we have multiple names for a pick-up in the English-speaking world. Or truck. Or bakkie. Or ute.

But increasingly I see discussions on forums about whether or not to write in American English to hopefully attract more sales, because America dominates ebook sales. It’s very much a hot topic.

And I see British authors using more and more American words or styles.

For example:

  • Ass instead of arse
  • He looked out the window, rather than he looked out of the window, or walked out the door instead of walked out of the door
  • Movies not films
  • You guys
  • Discombobulated
  • Cupcakes (fairy cakes when I was a kid, because they were small – like fairies, prettier name too, bring back fairy cakes!)
  • Making out (I can never work out where that is on the scale between snogging and sexual intercourse)

But, I find it somewhat confusing to read a book set in London, with British characters speaking American. I wouldn’t expect an American author to have an American in Louisiana speaking English! The author told me she threw in the Americanisms because that’s where she expects to sell her books, yet reading it, the writing style and grammar were basically British. What a hotch potch. Surely, if someone is tailoring their book for the American market, they should also be following the American style guide? (Usually Chicago for fiction.)

It’s not just Brits. Apparently Australian authors do it too. Again, with an eye on ebook sales. The idea of Australians speaking American strikes me as quite funny, but it is negating a very rich culture. Believe me mate, I’ve been there. Fair dinkum.

Most of us know (or maybe not?) the different words across the pond like:

    bonnet/hood
    bumper/fender
    boot/trunk
    pavement/sidewalk
    handbag/purse
    trousers/pants
    rubbish/trash or garbage

In fact, I was always perplexed about the obsession of American women with their purses. Nothing wrong with looking after the money, but I did wonder why they just didn’t stick their purse in a pocket … or … a handbag.

But some of the more difficult words that sound the same are not easy to get right, again, as language travels across the pond and infiltrates.

Here are a few more examples:

British first, American second

  • Axe, ax
  • Grandad, granddad
  • Jewellery, jewelry
  • Carat, karat
  • Moustache, mustache
  • Pyjamas, pajamas
  • Pedlar, peddler
  • Plough, plow

I saw a non-American get soundly berated on a forum for using pyjamas not pajamas. The whole premise of the original poster’s comment was belittled on the grounds he was using ‘incorrect’ spelling.

Food is a great one:

    Aubergine/eggplant
    Chilli, chili
    Coriander/cilantro
    Courgette/zucchini
    Gelatine, gelatin
    Pitta bread, pita bread
    Tartare sauce, tartar sauce

Still on food, my British style guide tells me we have scrambled egg and mashed potato, while Americans (sensibly) refer to them in the plural. One scrambled egg wouldn’t go very far. Actually, I think in our home we use both in speech – although we normally refer to scrambledies.

Let’s end with a drink. In the UK Scottish whisky is spelled without the ‘e’. Only Irish whiskey is referred to as whiskey. In America all whiskies are called whiskey as standard with whisky as an acceptable variant.

Cheers. Slàinte mhath.

And if you do read books with spelling, words or grammar you aren’t used to, remember the richness and variation of the English language and enjoy it before reaching for a red pen. These examples only touch the surface of the many detailed differences between British, American English and all other English-speaking countries. I hope those differences don’t disappear in the scurry for authors wanting to tap the American market.

Next post, I’ll take a look at the pros and cons of beta readers.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc

62 comments on “Across the pond

  1. Fun in the realms of the the vast ways a word hols attention to it I have tried to write

    Great post ever

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A great post and one that clarifies a lot of issues for me! Having written a story with ‘chilli’ in the title I struggled to find the correct spelling. In these cases, spell-check is useless as on many occasions and I resort to the good old-fashioned Oxford English Dictionary! However, at the same time, I’m conscious that many readers on my blog are from America so a mishmash seems to work well with a few colloquialisms for good measure! I look forward to your post about beta readers…particularly what the cons will be. Hope all works out with the electric!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Annika. Chilli was one I struggled with, I couldn’t work out whether it was alternate spelling as both chilli and chili seemed to be used interchangeably. It was only when I was reading my style guide that I realised what the difference was.

      I do use Oxford online quite a lot, plus a hard copy dictionary, plus Merriam if I am working in American.

      The beta reader thing … hmmmmmm. I can think of three cons immediately, no, make that four, but that’s for next month.

      Need to email Endesa again. God they are a pain.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Fantastic post. I have to laugh because as a Canadian writer we again have different spellings. Being part of the British monarchy many words are spelled like British English eg: the ‘ou’ words – colour, neighbour, you get my drift. When I began revisions on my first book I asked my Canadian editor what her opinion was to write my books in which English language. She advised me to write in American English. I admit it was weird at first changing the spelling I’d grown up learning in school and training myself to learn the variations for the purposes of my books. So I tried to keep with the American spelling into my blog posts and when commenting. When I’m commenting on a friend’s blog who happens to be a Brit I stop myself with certain words wondering if I should stick to my newly trained Americanese or use the English I was raised on and wonder if my British friends who know I’m Canadian ever wonder why I write in American. LOL 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I guess you can totally empathise then. And while I was comparing British v American, I very much had in mind Aussies, Canadians, Indians, Kiwis and South Africans, and that’s just for starters. I discussed, briefly, Caribbean English with Cynthia (Canadian) below.

      While I’d heard the stories of Brit authors being told they couldn’t spell, I was amazed at the Aussie saying he was writing in American purely for sales. The irony is, that after America, which does dominate English-speaking ebook sales, Britain comes next anyway. Canada, Aus and NZ are well behind.

      Presumably if you write in American, you also follow Chicago for style? Which, I have to say, is pretty good, in so much as it is detailed and doesn’t leave a colon unturned. I don’t think American spelling is so difficult, it’s the idioms and idiosyncracies and slang that all languages have. For example, many Americans say ‘I could care less’ meaning ‘I couldn’t care less’. But apparently the former is frowned upon by purists anyway exactly because of its inaccuracy. Yet, it’s in common usage.

      I won’t be writing in American in a hurry though. After a zillion years of writing and publishing in English it would be too time consuming to change. Plus, the sort of people who read my writing are sufficiently cranky not to give two hoots, qv Disperser’s comments about not bothering about spelling.

      The big question is, do you think crossing the linguistic border has improved sales? A hypothetical question I suppose without a comparator!

      Liked by 2 people

      • HI, thanks for sharing. I just want to say that I agree with you on things like ‘couldn’t care less’. I think many little sayings are chopped up into slang or bad grammar over time but regardless of what type of English we write in, grammar should be correct. And yes, Chicago style manual. In response to your last question, I can’t really say because it’s not like I switched my writing style in between books, I made the decision while editing my first book. I’ve never had any reviewers leave comments about ‘spelling’ errors which is common for some to complain about with British English, which of course is nonsense and misunderstood by a reader who doesn’t take into account if the author is British. So I suppose it’s working for me. I’ll admit though it was difficult transitioning from English Canadian to English American, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Side note: if a book is sold overseas (in either direction) isn’t it the publishing house that is responsible for editing the book for the appropriate language?

    Or is this strictly for those who self-publish?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It used to be that big/trad publishing houses would certainly Americanise English books, not sure about the reverse way round. Or even whether it still goes on due to decreased publishing budgets.

      I doubt any/many self-publishers do two versions. Given that many people don’t break even on one version, two would be a nightmare.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have my opinions as both a reader and writer; in both cases, I see more of a risk of alienating readers by trying to adapt the language/voice to the imagined audience — and failing — than alienating readers because one writes in one’s own language/voice.

      That also holds for regional dialects and idioms. For that matter, within the US you have different names for the same thing (pop, cola, soda, soda pop) so one need not “travel” outside a country to run into problems with assigning wrong idioms to a given character.

      Translation into a different language is another matter and outside the scope of most writers, but that brings up a whole different issue. For instance, I read “Vacanze Matte” (Richard Powell’s “Pioneer, Go Home”) and it was hilarious . . . in Italian. The translation did not have the same voice (cadence, flow, style, whatever) as the original and I did not find the book as funny in its original English (a number of reasons for it, but language was a big part of it).

      Side note: that brings up another interesting point; is the author still the author when someone basically rewrites their book? In the above example, other than sharing the plot, those are two different books.

      Getting back on point, as a reader, I’m likely to accept whatever is written as peculiar to the character/story, especially if I like the character/story. For instance, there is no set standard for elvish or orc languages or idioms, yet we manage to read their stories.

      Consistency — for me — is more important than accuracy or realism or whatever people shoot for when incorporating dialects and idioms or whatnot.

      So, a long-winded way (I know of no other way) of agreeing with what I think is your point. Write in your own language/voice and focus more on plot/characters than other factors.

      . . . of course, I could be saying that because I’m a lazy writer . . . or, I suppose I could have missed your point because of your peculiar flair with words. Who knows?

      Liked by 3 people

      • Well, whatever it is on a cracker. I’ll be stuffed if I can find anything to disagree with there 😦

        Someone else recently mentioned the soft drink thing in America. It’s pop, or was in my youth over here. Soda usually refers to soda water, which sadly, I have learned, has a side effect. Spain is neat, they are all refrescos, presumably because they are refreshing.

        I get the original language thing too. Some years ago, El Pais (Spanish national newspaper), offered classics for a €1 each with each edition, so I bought a few. So I’m still reading one book in Spanish, Les Liaisons Dangereuses in French as well as loads in English. I did manage some of the Aenead in Latin years ago under compulsion at school.

        I think we should mark this as a high point in our internet exchange that we are struggling to disagree. Best to leave. For now 😉

        Liked by 3 people

  5. Does this mean I don’t have to worry about mixing my English with Americanese anymore? 😉😉 Personally, I’m moving more and more to the English funnily enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Typically, I ignore the differences in written fiction and in personal correspondence (meaning, I take no notice of them). A few of my readers use non-American English and are always glad to remind me their version is the “original.”

    . . . I counter that US-English is the “improved” version if one follows the logic of newer of anything is (usually) better and typically corrects the flaws of previous versions.

    My main beef with British-English is not the spelling of the words or even writing in general. It’s that Brits tend to let their voice die off into a mumble rendering half their sentences are practically unintelligible.

    . . . I don’t know how to duplicate that in writing other than trng to purpsfpy magl . . .

    You know what I mean?

    Liked by 3 people

    • I was having an exchange (discussion would be too grand a word) with someone a few years back about fall/autumn. Their POV was that fall was older than autumn, which was taken from the French when Britain had a rare moment of friendship with France. I thought other USian words and expressions were also meant to be older, as you hung onto some quaint things dating from the Pilgrim Papas. Dunno. Not my field of expertise. All I can write about is the here and now.

      How do you mn we mmbl?

      Liked by 2 people

      • As it’s often and painstakingly pointed out to me, the US — and hence its language — is young. I grant you many words have roots that extend well into antiquity, but it’s difficult arguing that adapting an “old” word into modern usage makes the language old.

        As for your question, the answer is “carefully and with great deliberation.”

        Liked by 1 person

        • As I say, not one I’m up for arguing about, I’m merely open to persuasion and information on the whole old/new thing. There are some interesting discussions floating around, but I haven’t got time to follow them.

          Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cynthia. You have your own rich mix of Canadian and Caribbean English so you will be well aware of linguistic differences.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Absolutely. It’s said that the everyday language we used in the Caribbean was closer to the language that Shakespeare would have spoken. Remarkable how a language can evolve in some ways, but in a former colony, some bits are retained for much longer. It’s similar re: France and Quebec. In Quebec, you can sometimes hear very old expressions that France no longer uses.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I think it’s important to remember that the world just doesn’t speak British or US English, and that no one form is right or wrong, merely indicative of geographical location, pretty much like dialects. Where I come from in the UK, we have a strong local dialect, we speak Tyke. But it varies across the county. When I was a kid, I remember on holidays that the locals would count in funny numbers which were the ones shepherds used for counting their flocks.

          Liked by 2 people

  7. The spelling variations have never bothered me at all. In fact, I like that it gives a deeper sense of “place.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d agree with that, so, who are these people who don’t? Or maybe authors are more aware than readers?

      Liked by 2 people

      • I have no idea who they are. The only thing I can think of is that character consistency is important. So, regardless of where a story takes place, American characters would tend toward American words, and English characters would tend toward English words. I recently helped an English writer tweak a short story that takes place in the US to “Americanize” the language since the characters were all American.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I agree about character consistency. But when I read one book about a single American in London and everyone British was speaking American it was totally weird.

          Sometimes, I don’t think we realise how difficult it is to leap out of our home environment and try to put on different clothes. I think location is important. If it’s set in America, use American. Set in Britain, use English. The exceptions are when you have the main character(s) flitting all over the place, which can justify one language of choice. No easy life for writers.

          Liked by 2 people

  8. I like the richness of the various spellings and expressions. I am guilty of using grey instead of gray because it just seems more grey to me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Good luck with your power problem!
    I stick firmly with English spelling (being British), and I’ve had no complaints from my American readers, not even a comment about it in the reviews, though I’ve heard many people have had issues. I think particularly with my Scottish set novels, Americans love the authenticity. Throw in a few Gaelic words and they like it even more!
    And I just couldn’t bring myself to refer to trousers as ‘pants’…

    Liked by 3 people

  10. I thought snogging was intercourse. Making out is just passionate kissing. It is all terribly complicated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Snogging is just any sort of kiss. When I was a teenagers, lads would often say, ‘Give us a snog!’ Now, shagging on the other hand …

      In some of the books I have read, such a big deal is made about ‘making out’. Maybe it depends on the author’s personal values and morals. No one I knew ever asked about whether anyone had a good kissing session. It was either, ‘How far did you go?’ or ‘Did you …?’

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for listing so many words, which have crisscrossed into each other’s English…sometimes it is quite confusing for those whose mother tongue is not English. I studied British Literature and was unfamiliar with many American expressions till I came here. When I started reading American literature, my daughter gave me ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ to make a new beginning. Still I feel what difference does it make if we say coriander or cilantro, boot or trunk, highway or freeway? I agree with you, lets appreciate the ‘richness and variation’ of this language. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think it’s confusing for those of us whose first language is English!

      I’m sure I read somewhere that while cilantro refers to fresh coriander in America, the spice is coriander. In Spain we have cilantro (fresh), cilantro entero (seeds), cilantro molido (ground seeds).

      We don’t say highway or freeway, although I suppose old legal documents referred to the ‘public highway’. Our fast roads are motorways, or the occasional dual carriageway (two lanes only).

      But yes, let’s learn from each other rather than asserting any verbal superiority.

      Liked by 2 people

Authors love comments, please show your support!

Don't ☆, Just READ`

Need for skills

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Perfect Bingo Sites

find your best new site today

My space

Because I have a lot to say ♨

Authentically Mad

~ Madison Paige ~

printheal

Hard case books

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Terry Ibele

Not a published author yet, but chipping away at that dream every day. Sharing what I learn along the way.

ERIKA MURRAY

An introverted, twenty-something, author of 'Love Is A Place' -- written in the style of what she calls introvertisms -- discusses the twisted-melancholic truths of emotional, physical and sexual abuse. This is a space to bring awareness to these issues, spark conversations and inspire courage in those who need it.

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Cierra's Heart Of Books

To Be A True Original In A World That's Always Trying To Morph You Into Its Image Is Simplicity And Beauty At Its Finest. I'm Cierra And Books Have Always Been My Closest Of Companions. Welcome To My Blog And I Hope You Enjoy! :)

Emily Lupita Studio

Unique & Colorful Artwork by Artist Emily Lupita

Writing With A Side Of Life

Living life and following my passions with humor to get through the day!

Schnippelboy

Ein Tagebuch unserer Alltagsküche-Leicht nachkochbar

The Girl Who Reads

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis

Lisa Hempenstall

Photography, Travel & Lifestyle

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Danger Kit

- Poetry -

Affinity Home Medical

"Quality Equipment, Caring Service"

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

judithwnicholson

writer wife mother

