9 Comments

Shimji #Book Talk

Shimji, The Channel Island Vixen

 

Did you know there is a book written about me?

I’m Shimji a Channel Island vixen. We’re a special species of foxes living on the beautiful islands off the coast of Southern California and we are the only carnivore unique to California. Our history is long, we came to these islands thousands of years ago and the first humans we interacted were the Chumash. Their stories and ours mixed, hence my name Shimji which means Little White Cloud in their native language.

I was born the only girl of a litter of four. Brothers sometimes can be bothersome, but still, I loved them. My parents taught me the history of the Channel Island Foxes which made me dream of leaving the islands to visit the mainland where my ancestors came from. The dream became an all-consuming desire. Of course, it would have been much simpler if I had wings like my seagull friend Topanga or fins like the sea lion Malibu or with a rainbow bridge created by the Chumash Earth Goddess Hutash. The truth is, I had to find my own way.

After crossing the sea to the mainland, I experienced a loud and noisy world filled with humans and their dens, gray ribbons called streets with loud metal things that the humans use to be faster, unfamiliar creatures who taught me their way of life, new smells and a whole array of crazies. But I did find companions along the way, who explained to me the way of the world.

Everything got complicated when I decided to go back to the island. Luckily, I made a cat friend named Blackout, even lived in his castle with his human servants. He helped me escape before I was to be carted off to the zoo. My island friend Topanga and her seagull friends made an impossible task possible.

If you like to read about my adventures, it’s all in the book Shimji, The Channel Island Vixen

https://outskirtspress.com/christinasteinershimji

https://www.amazon.com/Shimji-Channel-Island-Christina-Steiner/dp/1478787082/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

 

About Kev

Kev is an Author & Songwriter. After years of studying, and even more years working in education, and management in the US, he returned to his hometown in England where he finally settled down to focus on his writing and music. Links to his works can be found in the widget bar, and more information about them can be found on his pages above. He would greatly appreciate it if you would check them out. Kev has a M.Ed in Secondary Education with English as his main subject area. He also did post-graduate studies in Christian Counselling and Psychopathology after obtaining a BA in Psychology with a minor in Classical Greek.

9 comments on “Shimji #Book Talk

  1. It sounds like quite the adventure! I like that the post is told by the main character 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sounds good kevin, the cover is cute!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I just picked up Christina’s book a couple days ago. Tornado Boy isn’t quite old enough for it yet, but Grammy’s going to read it. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Authors love comments, please show your support!

The Vegan Voyager

Vegan, Vegetarian, Black

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

...and his Maniacally Fueled Fodder

True Strange Library

Xeno's strange news awards blog.

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Priya's Blog

Live. Learn. Library

bpsenapati

Love to create stories

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

Read & Survive

How- To Read Books

SIMPLE OBSERVATIONS

A Humorous look at the Absurdity of the World Around Us.

Didi Oviatt

Author of the Time Waster Series-Super Short Preludes, and suspense novels Aggravated Momentum, The Stix, and New Age Lamians... (blogger)

Neha Kundapur

Journey of a creative soul

Darth Bloom

A comparison between San Diego Superior Court Judge Jay Bloom and the villains of Star Wars

Early Bookish Birds

living through pages........

the bookworm who lived

》books are friends 《

Annie Likes Words

A Girl and Her Books

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

laurawebbpoems

Poems that explore different perspectives

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Sabakuch.com

Get Sabakuch , Visit Sabakuch

`

-

LexieAnimeTravel

AnimeTravel

bookriot

Let's review

musalley

"there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you" Maya Angelou

Miss Featherhat

hey , Let's talk

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

ReadRantRock&Roll

A blog about books, music, movies and more...

Howlin Books

Urban Fantasy, Paranormal & Historical Romance

Beyond The Veil

Short Stories, Book Reviews, Literary Tidbits and More...

Once upon a time....

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

MyPoems

Rhymes . Emotions . Naive

omarsbluepassport.wordpress.com/

Make your life into something you want to read about. Always traveling on the budget.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Tiffany Belle Harper

Fundraiser - Campaigner - Creative Artist - Daydreamer.

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

